

Student Government Association

Meeting Minutes 09/08/14

I. Call to order

President John Jose called to order the regular meeting of the NKU Student Government Association at 3:30 p.m. on September 8, 2014 in NKU Governance Room (SU104).

II. Roll call

Secretary of Administration Hannah Jones conducted a roll call.

Executive Board

John Jose- President Katherine Hahnel-Vice President Hannah Jones- Secretary of Administration Andrew Dorriere- Secretary of Student Involvement

Committee Chairs

Julia Steffen - Academic Affairs Chair
Patrick Reagan- University Improvements Chair
Elizabeth Ruwe - Student Rights Chair – Absent (Gamma Chi)
Jarrod West- Finance Chair

Legislative Liaison:

Chandler Taylor

Chief Justice:

Tyler Stevens

Senators:

Hattie Clark-Gamma Chi

Kyle Conley

Tanner Elrod

Keisha Frazier

Laura Hahn sick

Aaron Hatfield

Sarah Howard Bid Day

Justices:

None

Kristian Johnson
Ellie Kremer
Isaac McFarland
Kylie Meiser Bid Day
Ella Mravec
Nick Pflum
Rick Seal
Donald Taylor
Will Weber

Approval of minutes from last meeting on **August 25,2014.** Minutes were **unanimously** approved.

III. Open Session

Sen. Chandler Taylor motions to move New Business up after Open Session. **Sen. Donald Taylor seconds.** Motion **passes.**

IV. New Business

- a) Budget presented by Vice President, Kat Hahnel
 - **President John Jose** motions to approve the budget. **Sen. Donald Taylor seconds.** Motion **passes.**
- b) Appointment of Secretary of Public Relation, Arnela Zekic
- c) Appointment of new Senators

Sen. Chandler Taylor motions to approval new slate. **Sen. Kyle Conley seconds.** Motion **passes.**

V. Executive Board Reports

- a) Sec. of Public Relations, Arnela Zekic
 - 1) Thank you!
 - 2) Please be crazy on social media this week. Make the freshman elections logo your profile picture on Facebook to help spread the word.

3) Her e-mail is <u>zekical@nku.edu</u> if you have any suggestions to help with PR.

b) Sec. of Administration, Hannah Jones

- 1) Happy Monday and congrats to the new Senators!
- 2) New Senators, if you could please send me your name, major/minor, hometown, interesting facts about you, and your goals for SGA. This is to update our website. My e-mail is jonesh7@nku.edu.

c) Sec. of Student Involvement, Andrew Dorriere

1) Working on improving Norse Rates.

d) Vice President, Kat Hahnel

1) Congrats to all the new appointed Senators!

e) President, John Jose

- 1) Welcome new Senators and Sectary of PR!
- 2) We need at least one Senator to be on the tuition committee. If you are interested please e-mail him.

VI. Committee Reports

a) Finance Chair, Jarrod West

- 1) Congrats everyone!
- 2) His committee will be sending out a meal plan survey featuring questions like: Are you satisfied?
- 3) They will need help administering the survey.

b) Student Rights Chair, Elizabeth Ruwe

c) Academic Affairs Chair, Julia Steffen

- 1) Welcome!
- 2) Her committee is meeting with the Provost.
- 3) She e-mailed the Provost concerns about Academic Affairs to her.

d) University Improvements Chair, Patrick Reagan

1) His committee is planning the dates for the Safety Walk this week.

Ex-Officio Reports

a) ACR Liaison, Joel Wilson

- 1) Make sure to get a team together for the Best Buddies Fashion Show.
- 2) ACR currently has 2 E-Board positions open.
- 3) There will be a movie night at 8 in Norse Commons on Thursday.

b) Legislative Liaison, Chandler Taylor

- 1) Office Hours...Do it!
- 2) Let him know if there are any issues where you cannot make it for some reason.

c) Judicial Council Chief Justice, Tyler Stevens

- 1) He will e-mail for election on Wednesday and again on Thursday.
- 2) There will be a reveal at 10 p.m. on Thursday so please come.

VII. Advisor Reports

a) Dean of Students, Dr. Jeff Waple

- 1) Welcome!
- 2) Please join the Tuition Appeals Committee. Ella, Kyle, and Alexandra will be attending it at 9 a.m. Other dates we need are: 9/11 at 12:30, 9/22 at 8:30 a.m., and 9/23 at 1 p.m. Make sure to e-mail ASAP.

b) Sarah Aikman

1) NO GLITTER IN THE ROOMS.

c) Danny Moore

1) Make sure to encourage people to vote. We really want to make sure to have a large turnout.

VIII. Old Business

IX. Announcements

• Kristian Johnson: Thank you to visitors. The NCAA Committee had its first meeting today.

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn by Sen. Chandler Taylor, seconded by Sen. Jarrod West. Sen. Donald Taylor opposed. Sen. Will Weber abstained. President John Jose adjourned the meeting at 4:30 p.m.

Minutes compiled by: Hannah Jones, SGA Secretary of Administration