

Student Government Association

Meeting Minutes 02/02/2015

I. Call to order

President John Jose called to order the meeting of the NKU Student Government Association at 3:33 p.m. on February 2, 2015 in NKU Governance Room (SU104).

II. Roll call

Secretary of Administration Hannah Jones conducted a roll call.

Executive Board

John Jose- President Katherine Hahnel-Vice President Hannah Jones- Secretary of Administration Andrew Dorriere- Secretary of Student Involvement

Committee Chairs

Julia Steffen - Academic Affairs Chair Patrick Reagan- University Improvements Chair Kristian Johnson - Student Rights Chair Jarrod West- Finance Chair

Legislative Liaison:

Chandler Taylor

Chief Justice:

Tyler Stevens - Excused

Senators:

Dasia Bartlett
Hattie Clark
Kyle Conley
Sami Dada
Irakoze Dieudone
Laura Hahn
Aaron Hatfield

Justices:

Sarah Howard

Ellie Kremer

Ben Martin - Excused

Kamaria Mayes

Isaac McFarland

Ella Mravec

Nick Pflum

Amanda Rogers

Kaitlyn Schaefer

Rick Seal

Austin Stevenson

Donald Taylor

Will Weber

Bryce Wells

Joey Yerace

Alexandra Young - Excused

Approval of minutes from last meeting on **January 26, 2015.** Minutes were **unanimously** approved.

Sen. Jarrod West motions to move New Business before Open Session. **Sen. Laura Hahn seconds. Motion passes.**

III. New Business

A. Appointment of new Senators.

IV. Open Session

- A. Marketing presentation by Kelly Martin
- 1) NKU ranks second behind UC in survey about people who recognize their brand.
- 2) It is important that we get our brand out there for people, especially with online advertising.
 - 3) NKU believes in two things:
 - * leadership
 - * enduring impact

4) Our brand promise:

- * We promise to put our students first.
- * To lead with excellence.
- * To make a lasting impact.

V. Executive Board Reports

a) Sec. of Public Relations, Arnela Zekic

- 1) Hi guys!
- 2) Please clear your cups up after you are done. Her laptop was almost ruined.
- 3) Everyone ask one friend to follow SGA on Twitter and like our Facebook page by next meeting.
 - 4) Keep retweeting all Tweets. Our followers have gone up!

b) Sec. of Administration, Hannah Jones

- 1) Please make sure to clean up after yourselves. She has had to clean up a lot of food and bottles because no one throws them away.
- 2) Also, please stay off your phones during meeting but especially when we have a guest. It is really rude and disrespectful and makes the organization look bad.
- 3) Went over dress code.
- 4) Congrats to the new people!

c) Sec. of Student Involvement, Andrew Dorriere

- 1) February 24 is the Student Organization Luncheon in SU 104.
- 2) Thank you to those who went and worked the Women's game on Saturday.
 - 3) Tomorrow will be the last Legacy Fund meeting until April.

d) Vice President, Kat Hahnel

- 1) Please do not look bored during presentations.
- 2) There will be tabling this week for the Rec Center.
- 3) KCLC is this Saturday and there will be rental cars to take.

e) President, John Jose

- 1) Victor's Vision Retreat by Leadership Mentors is later in February and SGA will sponsor you to go.
 - 2) Keep pushing #SaveOurRec.

3) President will put at least one or two students on the committee for the Rec RFP.

VI. Committee Reports

- a) Finance Chair, Jarrod West
 - 1) Congrats to the new Senators.
 - 2) Committee meeting in the back after meeting.

b) Student Rights Chair, Kristian Johnson

- 1) March 30 will be our Town Hall with special guest President Mearns so make sure to come.
 - 2) Make sure to clean up after yourselves.

c) Affairs Chair, Julia Steffen

1) The committee is still trying to get into contact with people regarding the resolutions they are working on.

d) University Improvements Chair, Patrick Reagan

- 1) The 24/7 hour Library Resolution is making good progress.
- 2) The Safety Walk will be called the Norse Walk and be using #NKUNorseWalk.

VI. Ex-Officio Reports

- a) ACR Liaison, Shalah Barnes
- b) Student Athlete Liaison, Jack Flournoy
- c) Legislative Liaison, Chandler Taylor
 - 1) Keep the office clean.
 - 2) Legislative tracking.
- d) Judicial Council Chief Justice, Tyler Stevens

VII. Advisor Reports

- a) Dean of Students, Dr. Jeff Waple
- b) Sarah Aikman
 - 1) No report.
- c) Danny Moore
 - 1) No report.

VIII. Old Business

X. Announcements

* Patrick: College of Republicans meeting at 5:30 p.m. at Tavern.

X. Adjournment

Sen. Jarrod West motions to adjourn. Sen. Chandler Taylor seconds. Motion passes. President John Jose closes meeting at 4:44 p.m.

Minutes compiled by: Hannah Jones, SGA Secretary of Administration