Student Government Association

Meeting Minutes 4/25/2016

I. Call to order

President Will Weber called to order the regular meeting of the NKU Student Government Association at 3:30 p.m. on April 25, 2016 in Governance Room (SU 104).

II. Roll call

Secretary of Administration Taylor Gagne conducted a roll call.

Executive Team Present: Sami Dada, Miriam Davis, Taylor Gagne, Will Weber, and Ellen Wilshire

Senators Present: Ben Anderson, Bradie Anderson, Iain Applebee, Dasia Bartlett, Ethan Bechtol, Evan Berkemeyer, Kayla Brewer, Chase Britt, Cole Curtis, Isaac Dailey, Ryan Gray, Becca Hepner, Cindy Mentrup, Walker Mettens, Onyi Okorie, Dejah Rawlings, Benjamin Sanning, Hope Sherman, Chelsea Smith, Maggie Smith, Jachelle Sologuren, Austin Stevenson, Spencer Sutton, Madison Vaughn, and Emma Vincent

Justices Present: Ethan Losier and Walker Mettens

Executive Members Absent: N/A

Senators Absent: Caroline Winstel

Justices Absent: Jacob Englert, Haley Madden, and Alex Vest

Guests Present: Brooklyn Butler, Devin Mason, Cheryl Dixon, Joey Smith, Christian Miller, Northerner Representative, Brad Blankenship, Jarrod West, Amanda Rogers, Troy Cornes, and Patrick Reagan

III. Approval of Minutes

A. President Will Weber entertained a motion for the minutes to be approved. Senator Chase Britt sub-moves the motion and Senator Iain Applebee seconds. Vote taken, passes unanimously.

President Will Weber entertained a motion to move old business to the top of the agenda. Senator Emma Vincent sub-moves the motion and Senator Becca Hepner seconds. Vote taken, passes unanimously.

IV. Old Business

A. Newly elected members who were not present for previous meeting are sworn in by President Will Weber.

President Will Weber entertained a motion to move new business to the top of the agenda. Senator Emma Vincent sub-moves the motion and Senator Cole Curtis seconds. Vote taken, passes unanimously.

V. New Business

- A. President Will Weber announced his recommendations for appointed positions.
 - 1. University Improvements Chair Chase Britt
 - Junior
 - Revamp committee by kick-starting more iconic changes to add to the NKU brand and add more to the safety walk.
 - 2. Academic Affairs Chair Cindy Mentrup
 - Senior
 - Make sure the student body is more aware of policy changes.
 - 3. Student Rights Chair Emma Vincent
 - Sophomore
 - Look at the Code of Conduct, patch any loose holes, and make sure everyone feels their voice is heard.

Senator Austin Stevenson motions to vote the committee chairs in as a slate and Senator Becca Hepner seconds the motion. Vote taken, passes unanimously.

- 4. Chief of Staff Amanda Rogers
 - Senior and SGA member for three years
 - Lots of experience and ideas
 - Knowledge of processes and procedures
 - Knowledge of Robert's Rules of Order
 - Lots of prior work with faculty and administration

Multiple individuals share opinions on whether or not Rogers is qualified for the position and is the right selection.

Senator Cindy Mentrup moves to call to question with a second from Senator Emma Vincent. Vote passes; 10 yes, 4 opposed, 6 abstentions

President Will Weber informs senate that Chief Justice cannot be voted on yet due to a majority of justices not being present.

- 5. Interim Chief Justice Ethan Losier
 - Much experience with Constitution writing and edits
 - Very few changes need to be made to current Constitution
 - Can use experience to help build up the Constitution
 - Wants to bring back the finance committee

Senator Emma Vincent moves to call to question to appoint Losier as Interim Chief Justice with a second from Senator Ben Anderson. Vote taken, passes with one opposed.

B. KLA Retreat

 Kentucky Leadership Academy is a chance for the executive board to develop as better leaders and network with other student leaders across the state.

C. SGA Retreat

- The SGA retreat is required for all senators who were elected in the spring of 2016.
- Schedule will work around Victor Guide training.

D. 2016-2017 Budget

• We have not heard the exact amount of money we will be allotted over the 2016-17 academic year.

President Will Weber entertains a motion to approve \$2500 to be spent over summer with \$2000 being spent on promotional materials. The motion is sub-moved by Senator Iain Applebee and is seconded by Senator Austin Stevenson. Vote taken, passes with two abstentions.

VI. Open Session

A. No guest speakers present.

VII. Executive Board Reports

- A. Secretary of Public Relations, Sami Dada
 - Welcome to SGA
 - We have a bunch of tabling opportunities over summer.
- B. Secretary of Student Involvement, Miriam Davis
 - Legacy Fund money is available for summer.
- C. Secretary of Administration, Taylor Gagne
 - Reminder that you must be in dress code to be counted as in attendance.
- D. Vice President, Ellen Wilshire

- Was not able to attend first faculty senate meeting due to it being the same time as today's meeting.
- E. President, Will Weber
 - Look forward to working with everyone.

VIII. Committee Reports

- A. Student Rights Committee, Emma Vincent
 - Looking forward to fall
- B. University Improvements Committee, Chase Britt
 - Looking forward to the fall and spring, can't wait to make a huge impact on campus.
- C. Academic Affairs Committee, Cindy Mentrup
 - No report

IX. Ex-Officio Reports

- A. ACR Liaison Dana Jetter
 - Feast for Finals is coming up
- B. VSA Liaison Holly Smith
 - Not Present
- C. ISU Liaison Saud Albugami
 - Not Present
- D. Chief of Staff, Amanda Rogers
 - Sorry it took so long to vote me in
 - Have a great summer
- E. Interim Chief Justice, Ethan Losier
 - Happy Monday
 - I will be very accessible and easy to contact

X. Advisors Reports

- A. Head Advisor Sarah Aikman
 - See you next year
- B. Advisor Ann James
 - Happy to be here
 - 1st meeting as advisor
- C. Advisor Dannie Moore
 - 4th new group
 - No report

XI. Announcements

1. There will be a retirement ceremony for Steve Meier on Thursday at 1:30 in the Governance Room.

2. Senator Austin Stevenson urges the new senators and justices to not be scared by their first meeting, we do have fun.

XII. Adjournment

Senator Bradie Anderson motions to adjourn and has a second from Senator Ryan Gray. Vote taken, 1 opposed. Meeting is adjourned at 4:40 pm.

Minutes compiled by: Secretary of Administration Taylor Gagne