Skip to main content
Key Contacts

Erin Strome, Ph.D.

Department Chair/Professor
Office: SC-204E
Lab: SC-328
Phone: (859) 572-6635
Email: stromee1@nku.edu

David Thompson

David Thompson, Ph.D.

Assistant Chair/Professor
Office: SC-246
Phone: (859) 572-5301
Email: thompsone1@nku.edu

Lynn Crane

Lynn Crane

Academic Advising Specialist
Office: SC- 203A
Phone: (859) 572-5306
Email: cranel1@nku.edu

Heleen Giesbers

Heleen Giesbers, Ph.D.

Academic Advisor/Lecturer
Office: SC 203B
Phone: (859) 572-5549
Email: giesbersh1@nku.edu

Kristy Hopfensperger

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Director, Environmental Science
Office: SC 247
Lab: SC 228
Phone: (859) 572-5305
Email: hopfenspek1@nku.edu

ENV Web Page

 

Christine Perdan Curran

Christine Curran, Ph.D.

Director, Neuroscience
Office: SC-344
Lab: FH 275
Phone: (859) 572-6914
Email: curranc1@nku.edu

Neuroscience Web Page

Richard Durtsche

Richard Durtsche, Ph.D.

Director, Field Station
Office: SC-148
Lab: SC-166
Phone: (859) 572-6637
Email: durtsche@nku.edu

Field Station Web Page

Maggie Whitson

Maggie Whitson, Ph.D.

Director, Herbarium 
Office: SC 101B
Lab: SC 101
Phone: (859) 572-1411
Email: whitsonma@nku.edu

Herbarium Web Page

Emily Dobbs

Emily Dobbs, M.S.

Lab Manager
Office: SC-222A
Phone: (859) 572-5304
Email: dobbse1@nku.edu

Tina Peebles

Tina Peebles

Academic Coordinator
Office: SC-204D
Phone: (859) 572-5307
Email: peeblesti@nku.edu

Vickie Hugo

Vickie Hugo

Administrative Secretary
Office: SC-204
Phone: (859) 572-5110
Email: hugov@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
All Faculty and Staff

A Diverse Faculty

Faculty members in the department of Biological Sciences come from all over the country and even as far as Great Britain to teach at NKU. Here's why:

  • Small classes enable faculty to get to know their students
  • State-of-the-art classrooms and equipment
  • The ability to easily collaborate across departments

A

Charles Acosta, PH.D.

Charles Acosta, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: SC-346
Lab: SC-161
Phone: (859) 572-5300
Email: acostac@nku.edu
Web Page

Jay Avenido

Jay Avenido, M.D.

Lecturer
Office: SC-242
Phone: (859) 572-6446
Email: avenidoa1@nku.edu

B

Jean Becker

Jean Becker, M.A.

Part-time Instructor / School-Based Scholars Program
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: beckerj1@nku.edu

Madeline Blevins

Madeline Blevins

Laboratory Technician
Office: SC-222
Phone: (859) 572-1326
Email: blevinsm3@nku.edu

Anna Boegehold

Anna Boegehold, Ph.D.

Part-time instructor
Office: SC 110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: boegeholda1@nku.edu

Bethany Bowling, PH.D.

Bethany Bowling, Ph.D.

Professor/Associate Dean
Office: SL-412
Phone: (859) 572-5415
Email: bowlingb2@nku.edu

Rick Boyce, PH.D.

Rick Boyce, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: SC-150
Lab: SC-166
Phone: (859) 572-1407
Email: boycer@nku.edu
Web Page

C

Brian Carlson

Brian Carlson, PhD.

Assistant Professor
Office: SC 352
Lab: SC 364
Phone: (859) 572-7997
Email: carlsonb2@nku.edu

 

 

Steve Castellano

Steve Castellano, M.S.

Lecturer
Office: SC-153
Phone: (859) 572-5580
Email:

castellanos@nku.edu

 

Rose Conley

Rose Conley

Part-tiime faculty
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: conleyr9@nku.edu

Josh Cooper

Joshua Cooper, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: SC-343
Phone: (859) 572-1965
Email: cooperjo@nku.edu

Lynn Crane

Lynn Crane

Academic Advising Specialist
Office: SC- 203A
Phone: (859) 572-5306
Email: cranel1@nku.edu

CHRISTINE CURRAN, PH.D.

Christine Curran, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: SC 344
Lab: FH 275
Phone: (859) 572-6914
Email: curranc1@nku.edu

Web Page

D

GREGORY DAHLEM, PH.D.

Gregory Dahlem, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Office: SC-248
Phone: (859) 572-6638
Email: dahlem@nku.edu
Web Page

DEBBY DEMPSEY, RN, MS

Debby Dempsey, RN, MS

Senior Lecturer
Office: SC 110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: 
dempseyd@nku.edu
Web Page

Beris Dizdar

Beris Dizdar

Laboratory Technician
Office: SC-327
Phone: (859) 572-5607
Email: dizdarb1@nku.edu

Emily Dobbs

Emily Dobbs, M.S.

Lab Manager
Office: SC-222A
Phone: (859) 572-5304
Email: dobbse1@nku.edu

RICHARD DURTSCHE, PH.D.

Richard Durtsche, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: SC 148
Lab: SC 166
Phone: (859) 572-6637
Email: durtsche@nku.edu
Web Page

E

F

G

Heleen Giesbers

Heleen Giesbers, Ph.D.

Academic Advisor/Lecturer
Office: SC 203B
Phone: (859) 572-5549
Email: giesbersh1@nku.edu

William Gosnell

William Gosnell

Part-time instructor
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: gosnellw1@nku.edu

H

Christian Hay

Christian Hay, D.C.

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: hayc3@nku.edu

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: SC-247
Lab: 228
Phone: (859) 572-5305
Email: 
hopfenspek1@nku.edu
Vickie Hugo

Vickie Hugo

Administrative Secretary
Office: SC-204
Phone: (859) 572-5110
Email: hugov@nku.edu

I

J

K

PATRICIA KAPPESSER

Patricia Kappesser

Lecturer
Office: SC-253
Phone: (859) 572-5689
Email: 
kappesserp@nku.edu

ROBERT KUES, M.ED.

Robert Kues, M.Ed.

1966-2020

Email: biology@nku.edu

L

Michael Leone

Michael Leone

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: leonem3@nku.edu

Holly Lowden

Holly Lowden

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: lowdenh1@nku.edu

M

Joseph Mester, PH.D.

Joseph Mester, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC 244
Lab: 364
Phone: (859) 572-5277
Email: mesterj1@nku.edu

N

O

P

Allison Parker

Allison Parker, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: SC-254
Phone: 859-572-6674
Email: 
parkera10@nku.edu

Tina Peebles

Tina Peebles

Academic Coordinator
Office: SC-204D
Phone: (859) 572-5307
Email: peeblesti@nku.edu

Tina Peebles

Warunya "Noot" Panmanee, Ph.D.

Post-Doctoral Research Associate
Office: SC 328
Phone: (859) 572-1405
Email: panmaneew1i@nku.edu

Q

R

Brenda Racke

Brenda Racke

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: rackeb@nku.edu

DENICE ROBERTSON, PH.D.

Denice Robertson, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Co-director, Center for Teaching & Learning
Office: SC 245
Phone: (859) 572-6929
Email: robertsonde@nku.edu

Leslie Russo

Leslie Russo

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: russol1@nku.edu

S

Bradley Sarchet

Brad Sarchet, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Office: SC-354
Phone: (859) 572-5303
Email: sarchetb1@nku.edu

Megan Sanctuary

Megan Sanctuary, Ph.D.

Lecturer-ONLINE
Email: sanctuarym1@nku.edu

Mary Schilling

Mary Schilling, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Office: SC-241
Phone: (859) 572-1409
Email: schillingm2@nku.edu

PATRICK J. SCHULTHEIS, PH.D.

Patrick Schultheis, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: FH 359G
Phone: (859) 572-5933
Email: schultheisp@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
Michael Scola, DPM

Michael Scola, DPM

Senior Lecturer
Office: SC-241
Phone: (859) 572-5932
Email: scolam@nku.edu

EMILY SHIFLEY, PH.D.

Emily Shifley, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC 347
Lab: SC 324
Phone: (859) 572-1409
Email: shifleye1@nku.edu

Brittany Smith, Ph.D.

Brittany Smith, Ph.D.

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: smithb103@nku.edu

ERIN STROME, PH.D.

Erin Strome, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair
Office: SC 204E
Lab: SC 328
Phone: (859) 572-6635
Email: stromee1@nku.edu
Web Page

T

DAVID THOMPSON, PH.D.

David Thompson, Ph.D.

Professor and Assistant Chair
Office: SC-246
Lab: SC-361
Phone: (859) 572-5301
Email: thompsone1@nku.edu
Web Page

U

V

W

LINDSEY WALTERS, PH.D.

Lindsey Walters, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC 345
Lab: SC 361
Phone: (859) 572-6390
Email: 
waltersl3@nku.edu
Web Page

MAGGIE WHITSON, PH.D.

Maggie Whitson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC 101B
Lab: SC 101
Phone: (859) 572-1411
Email: whitsonma@nku.edu
Web Page

Autumn Ferguson

Diane Wilkening Gilb

Part-time instructor
Office: SC 110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: fritzdi@nku.edu

Lauren Williamson

Lauren Williamson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: FH 359F
Lab: FH 275
Phone: (859) 572-1949
Email: williamsol6@nku.edu

X

Y

Z

NANCY ZWICK

Nancy Zwick

Office: SC 110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: zwickn@nku.edu

EMERITUS FACULTY

Jerry Carpenter

Jerry Carpenter, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Phone: (859) 572-5110
Email: carpenter@nku.edu

Larry Giesmann

Larry Giesmann, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Office: SC-101
Email: giesmann@nku.edu

Frank Sinton Milburn Outstanding Professor 1991
Jon Hastings, PH.D.

Jon Hastings, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Hastings@nku.edu

Debra K. Pearce, PH.D.

Debra K. Pearce, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Pearce@nku.edu

Thomas Rambo

Thomas Rambo, PH.D.

1940-2020

Miriam Steinitz-Kannan, PH.D.

Miriam Steinitz-Kannan, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Kannan@nku.edu

Jerry Carpenter

Jerry Warner, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Warner@nku.edu