Skip to main content
Key Contacts

Erin Strome, Ph.D.

Department Chair/Professor
Office: SC-204E
Lab: SC-328
Phone: (859) 572-6635
Email: stromee1@nku.edu
 

David Thompson

David Thompson, Ph.D.

Assistant Chair/Professor
Office: SC 246
Phone: (859) 572-5301
Email: thompsone1@nku.edu

Lynn Crane

Lynn Crane

Academic Advising Specialist

Office: SC 203A
Phone: (859) 572-5306
Emailcranel1@nku.edu

Heleen Giesbers

Heleen Giesbers, Ph.D.

Academic Advisor/Lecturer

Office: SC 203B
Phone: (859) 572-5549
Email: giesbersh1@nku.edu

Kristy Hopfensperger

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Director, Environmental Science
Office: SC 247
Lab: SC 228
Phone: (859) 572-5305
Email: hopfenspek1@nku.edu

ENV Web Page

 

Christine Perdan Curran

Christine Curran, Ph.D.

Director, Neuroscience
Office: SC-344
Lab: FH 275
Phone: (859) 572-6914
Email: curranc1@nku.edu

Neuroscience Web Page

Richard Durtsche

Richard Durtsche, Ph.D.

Director, Field Station
Office: SC-148
Lab: SC-166
Phone: (859) 572-6637
Email: durtsche@nku.edu

Field Station Web Page

Maggie Whitson

Maggie Whitson, Ph.D.

Director, Herbarium 
Office: SC 101B
Lab: SC 101
Phone: (859) 572-1411
Email: whitsonma@nku.edu

Herbarium Web Page

Emily Dobbs

Emily Dobbs, M.S.

Lab Manager
Office: SC-222A
Phone: (859) 572-5304
Email: dobbse1@nku.edu

BIO Llama

Jody Sargent

Academic Coordinator
Office: SC-204D
Phone: (859) 572-5307
Email: sargentj@nku.edu

Vickie Hugo

Vickie Hugo

Administrative Secretary
Office: SC-204
Phone: (859) 572-5110
Email: hugov@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
All Faculty and Staff

A Diverse Faculty

Faculty members in the department of Biological Sciences come from all over the country and even as far as Great Britain to teach at NKU. Here's why:

  • Small classes enable faculty to get to know their students
  • State-of-the-art classrooms and equipment
  • The ability to easily collaborate across departments

* Indicates part-time faculty; some may not be teaching every semester

A

Charles Acosta, PH.D.

Charles Acosta, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: SC-245
Lab: SC-161
Phone: (859) 572-5300
Email: acostac@nku.edu
Web Page

Jay Avenido

Jay Avenido, M.D.

Lecturer
Office: SC-242
Phone: (859) 572-6446
Email: avenidoa1@nku.edu

B

Jean Becker

Jean Becker, M.A.

Part-time Instructor / School-Based Scholars Program
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: beckerj1@nku.edu

Madeline Blevins

Madeline Blevins

Laboratory Technician
Office: SC-222
Phone: (859) 572-1326
Email: blevinsm3@nku.edu

Anna Boegehold

Bethany Bowling, Ph.D.

Professor/Associate Dean
Office: SL - 412
Phone: (859) 572-5415
Email: bowlingb2@nku.edu

Bethany Bowling, PH.D.

Rick Boyce, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: SC-150
Lab: SC-166

Phone: (859) 572-1407

Email: boycer@nku.edu

C

Brian Carlson

Brian Carlson, Ph.D 

Professor

Office: SC- 352

Lab: SC 364

Phone: (859) 572-7997

Emailcarlsonb2@nku.edu

Joshua Cooper

Joshua Cooper, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: SC-346

Phone: (859) 572-196

Emailcooperjo@nku.edu

Lynn Crane

Lynn Crane

Academic Advising Specialist

Office: SC 203A

Phone: (859) 572-5306

Email: cranel1@nku.edu

Christine Curran, Ph.d

Christine Curran, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: SC 344

Lab: FH 275

Phone: (859) 572-6914

Emailcurranc1@nku.edu

Web Page

D

GREGORY DAHLEM, PH.D.

Gregory Dahlem, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Office: SC-248
Phone: (859) 572-6638
Email: dahlem@nku.edu
Web Page

DEBBY DEMPSEY, RN, MS

Debby Dempsey, RN, MS

Part-time Senior Lecturer
Office: SC 110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: 
dempseyd@nku.edu
Web Page

Beris Dizdar

Beris Dizdar

Laboratory Technician
Office: SC-327
Phone: (859) 572-5607
Email: dizdarb1@nku.edu

Emily Dobbs

Emily Dobbs, M.S.

Lab Manager
Office: SC-222A
Phone: (859) 572-5304
Email: dobbse1@nku.edu

RICHARD DURTSCHE, PH.D.

Richard Durtsche, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: SC 148
Lab: SC 166
Phone: (859) 572-6637
Email: durtsche@nku.edu
Web Page

E

F

Adam Funk

Adam Funk

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: funka2@nku.edu

G

Heleen Giesbers

Heleen Giesbers, Ph.D.

Academic Advisor/Lecturer
Office: SC 203B
Phone: (859) 572-5549
Email: giesbersh1@nku.edu

Subhomita Ghosh Roy, Ph.D.

Subhomita Ghosh Roy, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Office: SC 253
Phone: (859) 572-1542
Email: ghoshroys1@nku.edu

Qing Goh

Qingnian Goh, Ph.D.

Part-time Lecturer

Office: SC 110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: gohq1@nku.edu

H

Christian Hay

Christian Hay, D.C.

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: hayc3@nku.edu

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: SC-247
Lab: 228
Phone: (859) 572-5305
Email: 
hopfenspek1@nku.edu
Vickie Hugo

Vickie Hugo

Administrative Secretary
Office: SC-204
Phone: (859) 572-5110
Email: hugov@nku.edu

I

J

K

PATRICIA KAPPESSER

Patricia Kappesser

Lecturer II
Office: SC-253
Phone: (859) 572-5689
Email: 
kappesserp@nku.edu

ROBERT KUES, M.ED.

Robert Kues, M.Ed.

1966-2020

Email: biology@nku.edu

Joseph Krumm

Joseph Krumm

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: krummj2@nku.edu

L

M

Joseph Mester, PH.D.

Joseph Mester, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC 244
Lab: 364
Phone: (859) 572-5277
Email: mesterj1@nku.edu

N

O

Sydney Oluoch

Sydney Oluoch, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: SC 343
Phone: (859) 572-6929
Emailoluochs1@nku.edu

P

Allison Parker

Allison Parker, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: SC-254
Phone: 859-572-6674
Email: 
parkera10@nku.edu

Tina Peebles

Warunya "Noot" Panmanee, Ph.D.

Post-Doctoral Research Associate
Office: SC 328
Phone: (859) 572-1405
Email: panmaneew1i@nku.edu

Q

Michael Quinones

Michael Quinones

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: quinonesm1@nku.edu

R

Brenda Racke

Denice Robertson, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
Director, Center for Teaching & Learning
Office: FH 359D
Phone: (859) 572-6929
Email: robertsonde@nku.edu

S

Megan Sanctuary

Megan Sanctuary, Ph.D.

Lecturer-ONLINE
Email: sanctuarym1@nku.edu

Bradley Sarchet

Brad Sarchet, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Office: SC-354
Phone: (859) 572-5303
Email: sarchetb1@nku.edu

Jody Sargent

Jody Sargent

Academic Coordinator
Office: SC-204D
Phone: (859) 572-5307
Emailsargentj@nku.edu

Mary Schilling

Mary Schilling, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Office: SC-241
Phone: (859) 572-1409
Email: schillingm2@nku.edu

PATRICK J. SCHULTHEIS, PH.D.

Patrick Schultheis, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: FH 359G
Phone: (859) 572-5933
Email: schultheisp@nku.edu

Michael Scola, DPM

Michael Scola, DPM

Senior Lecturer
Office: SC-241
Phone: (859) 572-5932
Email: scolam@nku.edu

Brittany Smith, Ph.D.

Emily Shifley, Ph.D.

Associate Professor 
Office: SC-324
Phone: (859) 572-1409
Email: shifleye1@nku.edu

ERIN STROME, PH.D.

Erin Strome, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair
Office: SC 204E
Lab: SC 328
Phone: (859) 572-6635
Email: stromee1@nku.edu
Web Page

T

DAVID THOMPSON, PH.D.

David Thompson, Ph.D.

Professor and Assistant Chair
Office: SC-246
Lab: SC-361
Phone: (859) 572-5301
Email: thompsone1@nku.edu
Web Page

U

V

W

LINDSEY WALTERS, PH.D.

Lindsey Walters, Ph.D.

Professor
Office: SC 345
Lab: SC 361
Phone: (859) 572-6390
Email: 
waltersl3@nku.edu
Web Page

MAGGIE WHITSON, PH.D.

Maggie Whitson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC 101B
Lab: SC 101
Phone: (859) 572-1411
Email: whitsonma@nku.edu
Web Page

Autumn Ferguson

Diane Wilkening Gilb

Part-time instructor
Office: SC 110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: fritzdi@nku.edu

Lauren Williamson

Lauren Williamson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: FH 359F
Lab: FH 275
Phone: (859) 572-1949
Email: williamsol6@nku.edu

X

Y

YingYing Xie

YingYing Xie, Ph.D

Associate Professor

Office: SC 342
Phone: (859) 572-1412
Email: xiey2@nku.edu

Z

NANCY ZWICK

Nancy Zwick

Office: SC 110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: zwickn@nku.edu

EMERITUS FACULTY

Jerry Carpenter

Jerry Carpenter, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Phone: (859) 572-5110
Email: carpenter@nku.edu

Larry Giesmann

Larry Giesmann, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Office: SC-101
Email: giesmann@nku.edu

Frank Sinton Milburn Outstanding Professor 1991
Jon Hastings, PH.D.

Jon Hastings, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Hastings@nku.edu

Debra K. Pearce, PH.D.

Debra K. Pearce, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Pearce@nku.edu

Thomas Rambo

Thomas Rambo, PH.D.

1940-2020

Miriam Steinitz-Kannan, PH.D.

Miriam Steinitz-Kannan, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Kannan@nku.edu

Jerry Carpenter

Jerry Warner, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Warner@nku.edu