Key Contacts

Patrick Schultheis, PH.D.

Department Chair/Professor
Office: SC-204E
Lab: SC-368
Phone: (859) 572-5933
Email: schultheisp@nku.edu

UPDATE

Denice Robertson, PH.D.

Assistant Chair/Senior Lecturer
Office: SC-253
Phone: (859) 572-6929
Email: robertsonde@nku.edu

UPDATE

Lynn Crane

Academic Advising Specialist
Office: SC- 203A
Phone: (859) 572-5306
Email: cranel1@nku.edu

ERIN STROME, PH.D.

Beth Sweeney

Academic Coordinator
Office: SC-204D
Phone: (859) 572-5307
Email: sweeneyb1@nku.edu

UPDATE

Vickie Hugo

Administrative Secretary

Office: SC-204
Phone: (859) 572-5110
Email: hugov@nku.edu

UPDATE

Kristy Hopfensperger, PH.D.

Director, Environmental Science
Office: SC-247
Lab: SC-SC 228
Phone: (859) 572-5305
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1404
Email: hopfenspek1@nku.edu

ENV Web Page

 

UPDATE

Christine Curran, PH.D.

Director, Neuroscience
Office: SC-344
Lab: SC-324
Phone: (859) 572-6914
Lab Phone: (859) 572-6648
Email: curranc1@nku.edu

Neuroscience Web Page

UPDATE

Richard Durtsche, PH.D.

Director, Field Station
Office: SC-148
Lab: SC-166
Phone: (859) 572-6637
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1403
Email: durtsche@nku.edu

Field Station Web Page

UPDATE

Aaron Serafin

Lab Manager
Office: SC-222A
Phone: (859) 572-5304
Email: serafina1@nku.edu

UPDATE

Maggie Whitson, PH.D.

Herbarium Director
Office: SC-101B
Lab: SC-101
Phone: (859) 572-1411
Email: whitsonma@nku.edu

Herbarium Web Page

cq-text-component-placeholder
All Faculty and Staff

A Diverse Faculty

Faculty members in the department of Biological Sciences come from all over the country and even as far as Great Britain to teach at NKU. Here's why:

  • Small classes enable faculty to get to know their students
  • State-of-the-art classrooms and equipment
  • The ability to easily collaborate across departments

A

Charles Acosta, PH.D.

Charles Acosta, PH.D.

Professor
Office: SC-346
Lab: SC-161
Phone: (859) 572-5300
Lab Phone: (859) 572-6649
Email: acostac@nku.edu
Web Page

B

Bethany Bowling, PH.D.

Jean Becker, M.A.

Part-time Instructor
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: beckerj1@nku.edu

ERIN STROME, PH.D.

Madeline Blevins

Laboratory Technician
Office: SC-222
Phone: (859) 572-1326
Email: blevinsm3@nku.edu

Bethany Bowling, PH.D.

Bethany Bowling, PH.D.

Associate Professor/Associate Dean
Office: SL-412
Phone: (859) 572-5415
Email: bowlingb2@nku.edu

Rick Boyce, PH.D.

Rick Boyce, PH.D.

Professor
Office: SC-150
Lab: SC-166
Phone: (859) 572-1407
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1403
Email: boycer@nku.edu
Web Page

C

John Carmen, Ph.D.

John Carmen, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: SC-352
Lab: SC-364
Phone: (859) 572-7997
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1996
Email: carmenj1@nku.edu

UPDATE

Lynn Crane

Academic Advising Specialist
Office: SC- 203A
Phone: (859) 572-5306
Email: cranel1@nku.edu

DOUG GERRARD

Steve Castellano

Lecturer
Office: SC-153
Phone: (859) 572-5580
Email: castellanos@nku.edu

 

CHRISTINE CURRAN, PH.D.

Joshua Cooper, PH.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: SC-343
Phone: (859) 572-1965
Email: cooperjo@nku.edu

CHRISTINE CURRAN, PH.D.

Christine Curran, PH.D.

Professor
Office: SC-344
Lab: SC-324
Phone: (859) 572-6914
Lab Phone: (859) 572-6648
Email: curranc1@nku.edu

Web Page

D

GREGORY DAHLEM, PH.D.

Gregory Dahlem, PH.D.

Senior Lecturer
Office: SC-248
Phone: (859) 572-6638
Email: dahlem@nku.edu
Web Page

DEBBY DEMPSEY, RN, MS

Debby Dempsey, RN, MS

Senior Lecturer
Office: SC-249
Phone: (859) 572-5549
Email: dempseyd@nku.edu
Web Page

RICHARD DURTSCHE, PH.D.

Beris Dizdar

Laboratory Technician
Office: SC-327
Phone: (859) 572-5607
Email: dizdarb1@nku.edu

RICHARD DURTSCHE, PH.D.

Richard Durtsche, PH.D.

Professor
Office: SC-148
Lab: SC-166
Phone: (859) 572-6637
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1403
Email: durtsche@nku.edu
Web Page

E

F

G

DOUG GERRARD

Doug Gerrard

Part-time Faculty

Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: gerrardm1@nku.edu

DOUG GERRARD

Heleen Giesbers

Office: Grant County
Email: giesbersh1@nku.edu

H

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Christian Hay, D.C.

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: hayc3@nku.edu

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC-247
Lab: 228
Phone: (859) 572-5305
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1404
Email: hopfenspek1@nku.edu
Web Page

UPDATE

Vickie Hugo

Administrative Secretary

Office: SC-204
Phone: (859) 572-5110
Email: hugov@nku.edu

I

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Emily Imhoff, PH.D.

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: imhoffe1@nku.edu

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Sarah Ison, PH.D.

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: isons7@nku.edu

J

K

PATRICIA KAPPESSER

Patricia Kappesser

Lecturer
Office: SC-253
Phone: (859) 572-5689
Email: kappesserp@nku.edu

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Elizabeth Kozak, M.S.

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: kozake1@nku.edu

ROBERT KUES, M.ED.

Robert Kues, M.ED.

Lecturer
Office: SC-254
Phone: (859) 572-1542
Email: kuesro@nku.edu

L

M

Joseph Mester, PH.D.

Joseph Mester, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC-244
Lab: 361
Phone: (859) 572-5277
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1406
Email: mesterj1@nku.edu

N

O

P

Q

R

AMY RACKE

Amy Racke

Lecturer
Assistant Dean
Office: UC-216E
Phone: (859) 572-5494/5686
Lab Phone: N/A
Email: rackea@nku.edu

Kristy Hopfensperger, Ph.D.

Brenda Racke, B.S.

Part-time Lecturer
Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: rackeb@nku.edu

DENICE ROBERTSON, PH.D.

Denice Robertson, PH.D.

Senior Lecturer
Assistant Chair
Office: SC-253
Phone: (859) 572-6929
Email: robertsonde@nku.edu

S

EMILY SHIFLEY, PH.D.

Megan Sanctuary, PH.D.

Lecturer
Office: SC-354
Lab: SC-342
Phone: (859) 572-5522
Email: sanctuarym1@nku.edu

PATRICK J. SCHULTHEIS, PH.D.

Patrick Schultheis, PH.D.

Professor
Department Chair
Office: SC-204E
Lab: SC-368
Phone: (859) 572-5933
Email: schultheisp@nku.edu

KIRSTEN SCHWARZ, PH.D.

Kirsten Schwarz, PH.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC-347
Lab: SC-228
Phone: (859) 572-5303
Lab Phone: (859) 572-6649
Email: schwarzk1@nku.edu
Web Page

Michael Scola, DPM

Michael Scola, DPM

Senior Lecturer
Office: SC-241
Phone: (859) 572-5932
Email: scolam@nku.edu

cq-text-component-placeholder
UPDATE

Aaron Serafin

Lab Manager
Office: SC-222A
Phone: (859) 572-5304
Email: serafina1@nku.edu

EMILY SHIFLEY, PH.D.

Emily Shifley, PH.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: SC-354
Lab: SC-368
Phone: (859) 572-1409
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1406
Email: shifleye1@nku.edu

ERIN STROME, PH.D.

Erin Strome, PH.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC-149
Lab: FH - 359G
Phone: (859) 572-6635
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1405
Email: stromee1@nku.edu
Web Page

Beth Sweeney

Beth Sweeney

Academic Coordinator
Office: SC-204D
Phone: (859) 572-5307
Email: sweeneyb1@nku.edu

T

DAVID THOMPSON, PH.D.

David Thompson, PH.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC-246
Lab: SC-361
Phone: (859) 572-5301
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1406
Email: thompsone1@nku.edu
Web Page

U

V

W

LINDSEY WALTERS, PH.D.

Lindsey Walters, PH.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC-345
Lab: SC-361
Phone: (859) 572-6390
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1406
Email: waltersl3@nku.edu
Web Page

LINDSEY WALTERS, PH.D.

Shannon Werner

Laboratory Technician
Office: SC-222A
Phone: (859) 572-5607
Lab Phone: (859) 572-1406
Email: werners@nku.edu

MAGGIE WHITSON, PH.D.

Maggie Whitson, PH.D.

Associate Professor
Office: SC-101B
Lab: SC-101
Phone: (859) 572-1411
Email: whitsonma@nku.edu
Web Page

Lauren Williamson

Lauren Williamson, PH.D.

Assistant Professor
Office: FH 359F
Lab: FH 275
Phone: (859) 572-1949
Email: williamsol6@nku.edu

X

Y

Z

NANCY ZWICK

Nancy Zwick

Office: SC-110
Phone: (859) 572-1413
Email: zwickn@nku.edu

EMERITUS FACULTY

Jerry Carpenter

Jerry Carpenter, PH.D.

Professor Emeritus
Phone: (859) 572-5110
Email: carpenter@nku.edu

Larry Giesmann

Larry Giesmann, PH.D.

Professor Emeritus
Office: SC-101
Email: giesmann@nku.edu

Frank Sinton Milburn Outstanding Professor 1991
Jon Hastings, PH.D.

Jon Hastings, PH.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Hastings@nku.edu

Debra K. Pearce, PH.D.

Debra K. Pearce, PH.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Pearce@nku.edu

Thomas Rambo

Thomas Rambo, PH.D.

Professor Emeritus

Miriam Steinitz-Kannan, PH.D.

Miriam Steinitz-Kannan, PH.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Kannan@nku.edu

Jerry Carpenter

Jerry Warner, PH.D.

Professor Emeritus
Email: Warner@nku.edu