Skip to main content

Sociology, Anthropology & Philosophy Department

menu
Contact Information

Contact Information

Department of Sociology, Anthropology & Philosophy

217 Landrum Academic Center 
Northern Kentucky University
Highland Heights, KY. 41099
Phone: 859-572-5259

Interim Department Chair

Department Academic Coordinator

Department Advisors

  • Ancient Civilization Minor -- Judy Voelker / LA 217E / 859-572-1569 / voelkerj1@nku.edu
  • Anthropology Major and Minor
    • Freshmen (≤29 Earned Credit Hours) -- Douglas Hume / LA 228 / 859-572-5702 / humed1@nku.edu
    • Sophomore and Juniors (30-89 Earned Credit Hours) -- Judy Voelker / LA 217E / 859-572-1569 / voelkerj1@nku.edu
    • Seniors (≥90 Earned Credit Hours) -- Douglas Hume / LA 228 / 859-572-5702 / humed1@nku.edu
  • Archaeology Minor -- Sharyn Jones / LA 218 / 859-572-7910 / jones33@nku.edu
  • Celtic Studies Minor -- Michael Simonton / LA 217B / 859-572-1347 / simontonm@nku.edu
  • Culture, Society & Health Minor -- Boni Li / LA 230 / 859-572-5281 / liyu@nku.edu
  • Evolutionary Studies Minor -- Monica Wakefield / LA 217F / 859-572-6591 / wakefieldm2@nku.edu
  • Healthcare Ethics and Policy Minor -- Augustine Yaw Frimpong-Mansoh / LA 217D & 240 / 859-572-7546 / frimpongma1@nku.edu
  • Native American Studies Minor -- Sharyn Jones / LA 218 / 859-572-7910 / jones33@nku.edu
  • Philosophy Major and Minor
    • David Bourne / LA 234 / 859-572-5258 / bournew1@nku.edu
    • Terry Pence / LA 206D / 859-572-5594 / pence@nku.edu
  • Religious Studies Minor -- Terry Pence / LA 206D / 859-572-5594 / pence@nku.edu
  • Sociology Major and Minor -- David Bourne / LA 234 / 859-572-5258 / bournew1@nku.edu

Department Co-op Coordinators

Department Directors

  • Ancient Civilizations -- Judy Voelker / LA 217E / 859-572-1569 / voelkerj1@nku.edu
  • Anthropology -- Sharyn Jones / LA 218 / 859-572-7910 / jones33@nku.edu
  • Archaeology -- Sharyn Jones / LA 218 / 859-572-7910 / jones33@nku.edu
  • Celtic Studies -- Michael Simonton / LA 217B / 859-572-1347 / simontonm@nku.edu
  • Center for Applied Anthropology -- Douglas Hume / LA 228 / 859-572-5702 / humed1@nku.edu
  • Culture, Society & Health -- Boni Li / LA 230 / 859-572-5281 / liyu@nku.edu
  • Evolutionary Studies -- Monica Wakefield / LA 217F / 859-572-6591 / wakefieldm2@nku.edu
  • Healthcare Ethics and Policy -- Augustine Yaw Frimpong-Mansoh / LA 217D & 240 / 859-572-7546 / frimpongma1@nku.edu
  • Museum of Anthropology -- Judy Voelker / LA 217E / 859-572-1569 / voelkerj1@nku.edu
  • Native American Studies
  • Philosophy -- Terry Pence / LA 206D / 859-572-5594 / pence@nku.edu
  • Religious Studies -- Terry Pence / LA 206D / 859-572-5594 / pence@nku.edu
  • Sociology -- Boni Li / LA 230 / 859-572-5281 / liyu@nku.edu

Department Student Organization Sponsors

  • Alpha Kappa Delta, National Sociology Honors Society -- Joan Ferrante / FH 518 / 859-572-5256 / ferrantej@nku.edu
  • Anthropology Alumni Club -- T. Eric Bates / LA 216 / 859-572-6112 / batesth@nku.edu
  • Ethics Bowl
  • Film and Philosophy Series -- Michael Steinman / LA 216 / 859-572-6112 / steinmanm1@nku.edu
  • First Nations Student Organization/Kiksuya -- Nicole Grant / LA 217L / 859-572-6480 / grantn@nku.edu
  • Lambda Alpha Gamma, National Anthropology Honor Society -- Jessica Lott / LA 246 / 859-572-7845 / lottj1@nku.edu
  • Native American Students Association -- T. Eric Bates / LA 216 / 859-572-6112 / batesth@nku.edu
  • Phi Sigma Tau, National Philosophy Honor Society --  Augustine Yaw Frimpong-Mansoh / LA 217D & 240 / 859-572-7546 / frimpongma1@nku.edu
  • Philosophers' Cafe -- Robert Brice / LA 224 / 859-572-5259 / bricer1@nku.edu
  • Philosophy Club -- Augustine Yaw Frimpong-Mansoh / LA 217D & 240 / 859-572-7546 / frimpongma1@nku.edu
  • Sociology Alumni Club  -- David Bourne / LA 234 / 859-572-5258 / bournew1@nku.edu
  • Sociology Club -- Kristina Vise / LA 217M / 859-572-1669 / visek@nku.edu
  • Student Anthropology Society -- Denise Knisely / LA 238 / 859-572-6359 / kniselyd1@nku.edu
  • Tuath an Ard Tíre Ardaí: The Celtic Studies Club -- Michael Simonton / LA 217B / 859-572-1347 / simontonm@nku.edu