ATHLETIC COUNCIL

Purpose:

Assists in implementing the philosophy and the objectives of NKU's Intercollegiate Athletics Program in accordance with NCAA principles and guidelines; serves as the athletics board described in <u>NCAA Bylaw 6.1.2</u>

Charge:

- Recommend to the NKU President policies for the operation of the intercollegiate athletics program at NKU
- Monitor for the President the operations of the Intercollegiate Athletics Program to ensure compliance with the policies of the University, the NCAA, and the Horizon League
- Advise and assist the President and the Director of Intercollegiate Athletics on any aspect of the Intercollegiate Athletics Program for which its advice and assistance is requested.

Membership Guidelines:

According to the Athletic Council Bylaws¹, membership shall consist of twentythree (23) members, as follows:

- Eight (8) ex-officio (by virtue of office) non-voting members
 - President of the University
 - Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
 - Senior Vice President for Administration and Finance
 - Vice President for Student Affairs
 - Vice President for University Advancement
 - Director of Intercollegiate Athletics
 - Senior Woman Administrator (SWA)
 - Senior Associate Athletic Director for Business and Finance
- One (1) Faculty Athletics Representative (FAR) described in <u>NCAA Bylaws</u> <u>6.1.3</u>
- Seven (7) other members of the NKU faculty
- Two (2) NKU students
 - One (1) male and one (1) female
 - Student athletes or athletic training program students

¹ Pending approval in fall 2025

- Full-time students in good standing as defined by the Code of Student Rights and Responsibilities with at least one full-time year of participation in the NKU athletic program completed
- Three (3) NKU administrators
- One (1) representative of the Go Norse Fund
- One (1) NKU alumnus

Membership Appointment:

Members are appointed by the NKU President

Membership Terms:

The President of the University, the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Vice President for Administration, the Vice President for Student Affairs, the Vice President for University Advancement, the Director of Athletics and the Senior Woman Administrator shall serve continuously on the Council as ex officio non-voting members.

The Faculty Athletics Representative (FAR) shall be appointed by the President in accordance with NCAA Bylaws and shall serve continuously on the Council until replaced by the President.

The other seven (7) faculty representatives shall be appointed by the President of the University and shall serve terms of three (3) years except when appointed to fill an unexpired term. Faculty representatives may succeed themselves if reappointed by the President of the University.

The two (2) student representatives shall be appointed by the President of the University. The representatives so appointed shall serve a term of one (1) year except when appointed to fill an unexpired term.

The administration representatives shall serve continuously on the Council until replaced by the President.

The Go Norse Fund representative shall be appointed by the President of the University. The representative so appointed shall serve a term of three (3) years except when appointed to fill an unexpired term. The representative may be reappointed by the President of the University.

The Alumni representative shall be appointed by the President of the University. The representative so appointed shall serve a term of three (3) years except when appointed to fill an unexpired term. The representative may be reappointed by the President of the University.

Frequency of Meetings: Quarterly

Expected Lifespan: Ongoing

Reporting Requirements:

Agendas and minutes for each meeting are tracked, shared, and sent to each member.

Operating Procedures:

- The Athletic Council meets as a committee of the whole at four (4) stated meetings during an academic year. The agenda for the meetings is established by the executive committee (Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary, and FAR) in conjunction with ex officio members: the Director of Athletics and SWA.
- Four (4) standing subcommittees (Compliance; Fiscal Integrity; Academic Integrity; and Student-Athlete Affairs, Belonging, and Impact) meet at their discretion during the academic year.
- The agenda of a meeting allows for remarks by the University President (if in attendance), then reports (oral and in some cases written) from the Director of Athletics (AD), FAR, Assoc. AD for Compliance, Assoc. AD for Finance, and the Dept. of Athletics Development Officer. Reports may be offered by chairs of the standing subcommittees. Other business for consideration or action by the Council is typically presented to the Executive Committee, placed on the agenda, discussed by the Council, (referred to a subcommittee if needed), and voted upon at a subsequent Council meeting.
- Other items relevant to the operation of the Intercollegiate Athletics program may be acted on by only the Executive Committee in keeping with the Council Bylaws and NCAA regulations. Changes to the Council Constitution, Policies, and Bylaws require a three-fourths favorable vote.

Relationship to Other Committees: None

Typical Date of Membership Turnover: June 30

Responsible Office: Office of the President

Administrative Contact Name & Position:

Dr. Joe Cobbs, Chair of Athletic Council, (cobbsj1@nku.edu) Sarah Pruess, Sr. Associate Athletic Director, Student Services (pruesss1@nku.edu)

Website: Canvas org

ATHLETIC COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP 2024 – 2025

Voting Members (15)

Faculty (8) [7 with three-year term Dave Agard* [FAR] Tanyon Boston Joe Cobbs [chairperson] Jennifer Kaiser [vice chair] Joe Rubleske Brittany Smith David Thompson Rachele Vogelpohl Warken *Continuous term ^ Subcommittee chairperson	ns, one with continuous term] Mathematics and Statistics [FAR-cont.] Chase Law [6/26] Marketing & Sports Business [6/26] Exercise Science [6/25] Computing and Analytics [6/27] Psychological Science [6/26] Biological Sciences [6/27] Kinesiology and Health [6/25]	Standing Subcommittee (^ chairs) Compliance Fiscal Integrity^ SA Affairs Fiscal Integrity SA Affairs^ Academic Integrity & Success Academic Integrity & Success^
Administration (3) [continuous terms]		
Samantha Nelson <i>(interim)</i> Sarah Aikman Jamie Younger	Director of Advising, COE Asst. VP, Student Eng. & Inclusiveness Director, Budget & Financial Planning	Compliance SA Affairs Fiscal Integrity
Students (2) [one-year terms]		
Joy Banks Ali Taleb <i>(interim)</i>	Women's [Volleyball] Men's [Soccer]	
Alumni (1) [three-year term]		
Steve Meier [interim secretary]	'76, Business Administration; '80 Phys. Ed. [6/25]	Fiscal Integrity
Go Norse Fund (1) [three-year term]		
Shannon Lewandowski	[6/25]	Academic Integrity & Success
Ex-Officio, Non-voting Members (8)		
Cady Short-Thompson	President	
Diana McGill	Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs	
Chris Calvert	Vice President Admin & Finance/CFO	
Eric Gentry	Vice President for University Advancement	
Brandon Thompson	Vice President for Student Affairs	
Christina Roybal Sarah Pruess	Vice President; Director of Athletics Sr. Assoc. AD, Senior Woman Administrator	
Sharon Criss	Asst. Athletics Director, Business	Fiscal Integrity
	,	