MEMO

TO: Faculty Senate

FROM: Laura A. Sullivan, Secretary

DATE: February 4, 2020

RE: January 27, 2020 Election Meeting

A Report on the 2020-21 Election Meeting

2020-21 Members present: Ryan Alverson, Kalyani Ankem, Janel Bloch, Tracey Bonner, Robert Brice, Nancy Campbell (for Lynn Warner), Susannah Coaston, Christine Curran, Jacqueline Emerine, John Farrar (for Isabelle Lagadic), Richard Fox, Yaw Frimpong-Mansoh, Amy Gillingham, Dorea Glance, Steven Gores, Tracy Hart, Steven Johnson, Ken Katkin, Kajsa Larson, Christopher Lawrence, Jitana Benton Lee, Marc Leone, Lisa Long, Phil McCartney, Steve Newman (for Lisa Holden), Shawn Nordheim, Cathy Pence, Denice Robertson, Toru Sakaguchi, Robert Salyer, Lynn Smith, Laura Sullivan, Darrin Wilson, Justin Yates, Matthew Zacate

2020-21 Members absent: Charlisa Daniels, Rhonda Davis, Irene Encarnacion, Rich Gilson, Jennifer Kinsley, Alain Krapl, Caroline Macke, Ban Mittal, David Raska, Denice Robertson, Sara Runge, Andrea Lambert South

Guests: Greg Hatchett (Elections Chair), Sue Ott-Rowlands (Provost), Matthew Zacate (Faculty Senate President), Grace Hiles (Elections Assistant)

The meeting was called to order by Senate President Matthew Zacate at 2:55 pm with a quorum present.

The slate of 2020-2021 nominees prior to the meeting were:

President:

John Farrar, Chemistry & Biochemistry; CAS Rick Boyce, Biological Sciences; CAS

Vice President:

Kalyani Ankem, Business Informatics; COI Steven Gores, English; CAS

Secretary:

Laura Sullivan, Steely Library (incumbent)

University Curriculum Committee Chair:

Richard Fox, Computer Science; COI (incumbent)

Professional Concerns Committee Chair: Kathleen Fuegen, Psychological Science; CAS Jackie Herman. Mathematics & Statistics; CAS **Budget Committee Chair:**

Janel Bloch, English; CAS (incumbent)

Benefits Committee Chair:

Charlisa Daniels, Chemistry & Biochemistry; CAS (incumbent)

TEEC Chair:

Christopher Lawrence, Counseling; CHHS (incumbent)

General Education Committee Chair:

Kimberly Weir, Political Science, Criminal Justice & Organizational Leadership; CAS (incumbent)

Faculty Advocate:

Phil McCartney, Mathematics & Statistics; CAS (incumbent)

There were no other nominations from the floor. A ballot vote took place for the contested positions—President, Vice President, and Professional Concerns Committee Chair. Those elected are:

President: John Farrar

Vice President: Steven Gores

Professional Concerns Committee Chair: Kathleen Fuegen

A motion was made and seconded that the Secretary cast a ballot on behalf of the Assembly for the uncontested positions.

MOTION PASSED.

The following Senate officers elected for the 2020-21 term are:

President: John Farrar Vice President: Steven Gores Secretary: Laura Sullivan

University Curriculum Committee Chair: Richard Fox Professional Concerns Committee Chair: Kathleen Fuegen

Budget Committee Chair: Janel Bloch Benefits Committee Chair: Charlisa Daniels

TEEC Chair: Christopher Lawrence

General Education Committee Chair: Kimberly Weir

Faculty Advocate: Phil McCartney

The meeting adjourned at 3:11 p.m.