FACULTY SENATE MEETING

August 23, 2010

Members Present: Seyed Allameh, Margaret Anderson, Scottie Barty, Richard Boyce, Perry Bratcher, Carol Bredemeyer, Heather Bullen, Kim Clayton-Code, Paul Cooper, Ken Engebretson, Richard Fox, Emily Detmer-Goebel, Nancy Hancock, Chuck Hawkins, David Hogan, MaryCarol Hopkins, Yi Hu, Alar Lipping, Caroline Macke, Lisa MacQueen, Phil McCartney, Kim McErlane, Jacqueline McNally, John Metz, Ban Mittal, Phil Moberg, Teri Murphy, Louise Niemer, Sara Runge, KC Russell, Toru Sakaguchi, Patty Schumacher, Steve Weiss, Jeffrey Williams

Members Absent: Blas Peunte-Baldoceda, Rich Gilson, Kristi Haik, Ken Katkin, Marc Leone, Ausbra McFarland, Jonathan McKenzie, Ron Shaw, Vance Wolverton

Guests: Jim Votruba, Gail Wells, Pat Moynahan, Willie Elliot, Grace Hiles

The meeting was opened by Faculty Senate President Alar Lipping at 3:05 pm. The minutes of the May 7, 2010 meeting were approved. President Lipping welcomed two previous Senate Presidents back to the Faculty Senate: Jeffrey Williams (President 1974-75) and David Hogan (President 2007-09). He also introduced the Executive Committee members. The Chair of the Teaching Effectiveness & Enhancement Committee (Ken Rhee) has been added to the committee per last semester's resolution. The role, benefits and importance of involvement of faculty members in the Faculty Senate was emphasized.

Guest Reports:

- University President (Jim Votruba): The text of the university convocation (State of the University Address) presented on August 20, 2010 can be found on the university website. The current goal of the university will be to position itself for a new era in light of reduction of resources. Graduation rates continue to be a concern. There will be three focus areas during the next six months:
 - o Evaluation of the "university experience"
 - o Assessment of administrative structure and business processes
 - o Review of academic productivity

It should be noted that NKU is 70% tuition dependent. Additional funding for new programs and other initiatives will most likely come from internal reallocation and/or tuition. The Health Professions building will continue to be a construction priority.

• **Provost** (Gail Wells): There continues to be concern regarding the low graduation rate (32%). Although many circumstances are beyond the university's control, we should do

as much as we can to improve this rate. Progress is being made on other fronts: degrees conferred, enrollment increase, degrees obtained by minorities, etc. Overall enrollment for this semester is up 2.5% mostly in the Sophomore-Senior levels. The Provost holds open office hours on Fridays from 8:30-10:30 am. A Provost /Faculty Advisory Committee will be formed to further improve communications. The Provost also continues to meet with the Professional Concerns Committee as needed. Pat Moynahan was asked to give a report regarding the Director of General Education Search. A Search Committee was formed, chaired by Richard Fox, and candidates were interviewed during the summer. The search was not successful and an interim Director, Vicki Stieha, has been appointed to the position. Dr. Stieha was formerly the Director of First Year Programs at NKU then attended the University of Cincinnati to complete her PhD. The Search Committee will resume its work this fall to continue its search for a permanent director.

- Faculty Regent (Chuck Hawkins): The Board of Regents held its annual retreat in July. In the morning, the Board met with former governor Paul Patton and President of the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education regarding issues from their perspectives. The afternoon was spent discussing the NKU President's report, and NKU President and Board evaluations. The next meeting is Sept. 15. There are three new Board members: Nathan Smith, Elizabeth Thompson, and Kevin Golden.
- "Kentucky Public Postsecondary Education Diversity Policy and Framework for Institution Diversity Plan Development" (Willie Elliot Special Advisor for Campus Diversity): The Council on Postsecondary Education has developed this policy to address diversity at Kentucky public universities. The final draft policy (dated 8/13/2010) was distributed at the Senate meeting. Quoting from the policy: "To implement this policy, CPE requires that each public institution submit to CPE for approval, no later than March 15, 2011, a campus-based diversity plan which shall set forth specific strategies that promote diversity and measurable goals that reflect institutional demographics in comparison to population." Further details are outlined in the policy. Institutions will need to develop and submit individual diversity plans to CPE for review and approval.

Committee Reports:

- **Curriculum** (Richard Fox): Initiatives for this year include:
 - o Review of the structure of the new standing committee on General Education
 - o Relationship between the Curriculum Committee and Graduate Council
 - o Review of the structure of the Curriculum Committee
 - o Review of curriculum policies

The first annual Information and Assessment workshops will be held Sept. 27 & 28

- **Professional Concerns** (Scottie Barty): Major emphasis will be placed on clean-up of issues left over from last year.
- **Benefits** (KC Russell): Informational workshops are being held for sabbaticals/fellowships/project grants on Aug. 31 and Sept. 1. There are 19 sabbatical

slots available (up 1 from last year) , \$56K available for project grants (\$6K maximum/each – same amount as last year), and \$90K available for fellowships (\$6K each – same amount as last year)

• **Budget** (Ken Engebretson): Major emphasis will be placed on clean-up of issues left over from last year. Note: last year's implementation of an online budget priorities process yielded an increase of 250% in the response rate by faculty.

Officer Reports:

- Senate President (Alar Lipping): Review will take place this year of the structure of the Faculty Senate in order to assure effective and efficient operations. This will most likely necessitate changes committee structure and changes in the Faculty Senate Constitution. In anticipation of this, a Constitution Review Committee has been established with the following membership from the Executive Committee: Steve Weiss, Scottie Barty, Carol Bredemeyer, Ken Rhee, and Chuck Hawkins.
- **Parliamentarian** (Steve Weiss): A handout of common misconceptions regarding parliamentary procedures and a definition of motions was distributed and discussed.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Perry Bratcher Secretary