THE NKU ACADEMIC ADVISING COUNCIL PRESENTS:

2023 OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC ADVISOR AND MASTER ADVISOR CERTIFICATION

AMAROS CEREMONY

May 3, 2023



THE NKU ADVISING COUNCIL

The purpose of the NKU Advising Council is to provide opportunities for training, networking and communication among advisors throughout the university and to disseminate information about university programs, policies and procedures that impact the function of advising. The Advising Council is not a policy-making body, although it may at times discuss, review and make recommendations about policies related to advising. The Advising Council has no authority to enact policy.



PROGRAM

Welcome from President Bonita Brown

Remarks from Provost Matt Cecil

Recognition of Master Advisor Committee

Master Advisor Program Review

- Recognition of 2023 Master Advisors
- Recognition of Master Advisor Renewals
- Recognition of 2023 Senior Master Advisors
- Recognition of Senior Master Advisor Renewals

Presentation of Rising Star Awards

Presentation of Collaboration Awards

Presentation of Friend of Advising Award

Recognition of 2023 Outstanding Advisor Awards Selection Committee

Recognition of Nominees for the 2023 Outstanding Advisor Awards

Presentation of 2023 Outstanding Advisor Awards

Closing remarks from Coordinator of Advising Programs, Megan LaDow

THE MASTER ADVISOR PROGRAM

The Master Advisor Program was established in 2002 under the leadership of the NKU Advising Council. The goal of the program is to create a core of highly skilled advisors who provide high quality academic advising to support new and continuing NKU students. The program offers resources to faculty and staff advisors regarding basic and advanced advising strategies and techniques, legal issues related to advising, the technologies associated with advising, academic policies and specific curriculum requirements.

2023 MASTER ADVISORS

Mark Dvornak

Andrew Pendleton

Kayla Robles

Rob Rundle

David Sandmann

Kimberly Shearer

2023 MASTER ADVISOR RENEWALS

Sara Conwell Cindy Knox Aprile Redden
Samantha Dutle Megan LaDow Jennifer Ungerleider
Deborah Henry Courtney McManus Terkerah Washington

Doug Hume Nick Pflum

2023 SENIOR MASTER ADVISORS

Amanda Kilmer Kara Thompson

2023 SENIOR MASTER ADVISOR RENEWALS

Lynn Crane Jessica Ferguson Frank Robinson Candice Van Loveren Geis

Also recognizing... RISING STAR

The Rising Star Award was established to recognize advisors who have been advising for fewer than three years. Advisors recognized as Rising Stars have been nominated by (at least) their supervisor and have made a significant, positive impact on their students, in their office, and (as applicable) at the university.

COLLABORATION AWARD

The Collaboration Award was established to recognize an advisor (or a group of advisors) who have gone above and beyond in the way of collaboration in an effort to increase student success.

FRIEND OF ADVISING AWARD

The Friend of Advising Award was established to recognize an individual (or group) who works closely with advisors and supports advising initiatives in an outstanding way. The Friend of Advising Award celebrates individuals who do not have traditional advising caseloads but impact advising and student success significantly.

ADVISORS NOMINATED FOR OUTSTANDING ADVISOR

Alyssa Mathews Doug Hume Kara Thompson Olena Pilyayeva Alyssa Morgan **Edward Thornton** Kari Wright-Perkins P.J Ball Amanda Kilmer Erika Jav Kathy O'Connor Rebekah Richardson Andrew Pendleton Frin Masters Kayla Robles Rhea Floyd Anna Stryker Gail Rizzo Kevin Corea Richard Tewksbury Aprile Redden **Gregory Moore** Kimberly Shearer Rob Rundle Hannah Ledford **Bethany Bowling** LeShauna Perslev Samantha Dutle Heleen Giesbers Bill Boyce Lindsev Walters Samantha Esche Bonnie Hedrick Lisa Brun Jasmine Riddlespriger Sara Conwell **Bridget Nichols** Jennifer Boblitt Johnson Lynn Crane Shelly Goldfarb Candice Van Jennifer Davis Madison Garrott Staci Hunt Loveren Geis Jennifer Ungerleider Maren Morrison Susan Keuper Carl Miller Jessica Ferguson Mark Dvornak Thomas Liauba Jillian Snider Casey Thompson Melissa Beale Zelda Hughes-Chris Bukas Joan Brummer Melissa Hess Howard Joyce Couch Dana Lehrter Mike Ruwe Deborah Henry **Justin Taylor** Nick Pflum

4 - 2023 Advisor Awards Program

Northern Kentucky University - 5

PAST RECIPIENTS OF THE OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC ADVISOR AWARD

YEAR	PRIMARY ROLE	SECONDARY ROLE
2002	JANIS CASSIERE	DR. JAMES THOMAS DR.
2003	MARY HUENING	SAMUEL ZACHARY
2004	DAVID KIME	JODI FERNER
2005	DIXIE LEATHER	DR. MEI MEI BURR
2006	JENNY WAGNER	DR. SEAN FOLEY
2007	SALLIE PARKER LOTZ	DR. DAVID DUNEVANT
2008	LINDA ALBERT	SUZANNE DE LUCA
2009	AMY RACKE	CARON MARTIN
2010	MARK MILLER	APRILE CONRAD-REDDEN
2011	CANDICE VAN LOVEREN GEIS	DR. DOUGLAS HUME
2012	PATSY FISK	ANDREA CORNUELLE
2013	MEGAN DOWNING	LAURA PADOLIK
2014	SHANE TALBOTT	CAROLINE BRADEN
2015	FRANK ROBINSON	MELODY MCMILLAN
2016	JOSH BRITTINGHAM* REBECCA WALKER*	DIANA MCGILL
2017	DEBORAH HENRY	DEBRA MEYERS
2018	LYNN CRANE* REBEKAH RICHARDSON*	AMANDA KILMER
2019	JESSICA FERGUSON	JULIA BEDELL
2020	SARAH CONWELL	JUDY VOELKER
2021	AMANDA LASKOWSKI* KARA THOMPSON*	AMY PIEPER
2022	LESHAUNA PERSLEY*	AMY RACKE
	JENNIFER UNGERLEIDER*	* Co-award winners

2023 OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC ADVISOR AWARD SELECTION COMMITTEE

GRACE HOLTKAMP

LESHAUNA PERSLEY

AMY RACKE

EILEEN SHANAHAN

ARNIE SLAUGHTER

EDWARD THORNTON

JENNIFER UNGERLEIDER

2022-2023 MASTER ADVISOR COMMITTEE

CHRIS BUKAS, College of Business

LYNN CRANE, Biological Sciences

MEGAN LADOW, Coordinator of Advising Programs

NICK PFLUM, First Year Student Success Hub

AMY RACKE, College of Arts and Sciences

ANNA STRYKER, College of Education

KARA THOMPSON, College of Informatics

CATHLEEN WOLFF, College of Health and Human Services

6 - 2023 Advisor Awards Program Northern Kentucky University - 7



NUNN DRIVE HIGHLAND HEIGHTS, KY 41099