THE NKU ACADEMIC ADVISING COUNCIL PRESENTS:

2025 OUTSTANDING
ACADEMIC ADVISOR AND MASTER
ADVISOR CERTIFICATION

Awards Ceremony

May 7, 2025



THE NKU ADVISING COUNCIL

The purpose of the NKU Advising Council is to provide opportunities for training, networking and communication among advisors throughout the university and to disseminate information about university programs, policies and procedures that impact the function of advising. The Advising Council is not a policy-making body, although it may at times discuss, review and make recommendations about policies related to advising. The Advising Council has no authority to enact policy.



PROGRAM

Remarks from NKU Senior Emily Stephens

Welcome from President Cady Short-Thompson

Recognition of Master Advisor Committee

Master Advisor Program Review

- Recognition of 2025 Master Advisors
- Recognition of Master Advisor Renewals
- Recognition of 2025 Senior Master Advisor

Presentation of Rising Star Awards

Presentation of Collaboration Awards

Presentation of Friend of Advising Awards

Recognition of 2025 Outstanding Advisor Awards Selection Committee

Remarks from Provost Diana McGill

Presentation of 2025 Outstanding Advisor Awards

Closing remarks from Mike Irvin

THE MASTER ADVISOR PROGRAM

The Master Advisor Program was established in 2002 under the leadership of the NKU Advising Council. The goal of the program is to create a core of highly skilled advisors who provide high quality academic advising to support new and continuing NKU students. The program offers resources to faculty and staff advisors regarding basic and advanced advising strategies and techniques, legal issues related to advising, the technologies associated with advising, academic policies and specific curriculum requirements.

2025 MASTER ADVISORS

Melissa Beale Kate Goller

Jennifer Beck-Brown
Emma Bernardi
Kristen Bird
Michelle Cerullo

Amanda Johnston Whitney
Jorgensen Rachel LawsonBaker Samantha Nelson

Tinley Daniel
Steven Donnally
Alexis Draut

Betty Russell
Jasmine Smart
Kel Smith

lauren Elliott Britney Woodhull-Smith

Samantha Esche Karlyn Yocum

Cayley Ginn

2025 MASTER ADVISOR RENEWALS

Jane Bratton Cindy Knox Joan Brummer Hannah Ledford Sara Conwell Paige Long Samantha Dutle Kim McCov Gwen Fields Nicole Perrone Heleen Geisbers LeShauna Persley Dan Ginn Jasmine Riddlespriger Staci Hunt David Sandmann Mike Irvin Wendy Schindler

2025 SENIOR MASTER ADVISORS

Lisa Brun

Also recognizing... RISING STAR

The Rising Star Award was established to recognize advisors who have been advising for fewer than three years. Advisors recognized as Rising Stars have been nominated by (at least) their supervisor and have made a significant, positive impact on their students, in their office, and (as applicable) at the university.

COLLABORATION AWARD

The Collaboration Award was established to recognize an advisor (or a group of advisors) who have gone above and beyond in the way of collaboration in an effort to increase student success.

FRIEND OF ADVISING AWARD

The Friend of Advising Award was established to recognize an individual (or group) who works closely with advisors and supports advising initiatives in an outstanding way. The Friend of Advising Award celebrates individuals who do not have traditional advising caseloads but impact advising and student success significantly.

ADVISORS NOMINATED for OUTSTANDING ADVISOR

Alyssa Morgan Jamie Kohls Amanda Dempsey Amanda Johnston Amber Onorato Amv Racke Jennifer Davis Betty Russell Britney Woodhull-Smith Casey Thompson Jill Liebisch Catherine Shelton Jillian Snider Dana Lehrter Joan Brummer David Sandmann Joyce Couch Dvane Foltz **Fd Thornton** Kara Thompson Emma Bernardi Karlvn Yocum Emma Kramer Kel Smith Gwen Fields Kelly Craig Hannah Ledford Kevin Corea

Heleen Giesbers

Kyle Dorriere Jasmine Riddlespriger Lauren Elliott Jennifer Beck-Brown LeShauna Perslev Jennifer Boblitt-Johnson Lisa Brun Lynn Crane Jennifer Ungerleider Mark Dvornak Jessica Ferguson Megan Larkin Melissa Beale Michael Guy Michael Hatton Michelle Cerullo Mike Ruwe Nicolette Meade PJ Ball Rachael Bragg Rachel Thorton Rebecca Hamm Kristi Ahrens

Rebekah Richardson Samantha Esche Samantha Nelson Sara Conwell Sarah Rodriguez Shelly Goldfarb Steven Donnally Tobias Hill Whitney Jorgensen

Northern Kentucky University - 5

PAST RECIPIENTS OF THE OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC ADVISOR AWARD

YEAR	PRIMARY ROLE	SECONDARY ROLE
2002	JANIS CASSIERE	DR. JAMES THOMAS DR.
2003	MARY HUENING	SAMUEL ZACHARY
2004	DAVID KIME	JODI FERNER
2005	DIXIE LEATHER	DR. MEI MEI BURR
2006	JENNY WAGNER	DR. SEAN FOLEY
2007	SALLIE PARKER LOTZ	DR. DAVID DUNEVANT
2008	LINDA ALBERT	SUZANNE DE LUCA
2009	AMY RACKE	CARON MARTIN
2010	MARK MILLER	APRILE CONRAD-REDDEN
2011	CANDICE VAN LOVEREN GEIS	DR. DOUGLAS HUME
2012	PATSY FISK	ANDREA CORNUELLE
2013	MEGAN DOWNING	LAURA PADOLIK
2014	SHANE TALBOTT	CAROLINE BRADEN
2015	FRANK ROBINSON	MELODY MCMILLAN
2016	JOSH BRITTINGHAM* REBECCA WALKER*	DIANA MCGILL
2017	DEBORAH HENRY	DEBRA MEYERS
2018	LYNN CRANE* REBEKAH RICHARDSON*	AMANDA KILMER
2019	JESSICA FERGUSON	JULIA BEDELL
2020	SARAH CONWELL	JUDY VOELKER
2021	AMANDA LASKOWSKI* KARA THOMPSON*	AMY PIEPER
2022	LESHAUNA PERSLEY*	AMY RACKE
	JENNIFER UNGERLEIDER*	* Co-award winners
2023	JOAN BRUMMER ANNA STRYKER	
2024	PJ BALL JILL SNIDER	

2025 OUTSTANDING ACADEMIC ADVISOR AWARD SELECTION COMMITTEE

JOETTA BROWNING, College of Education

LYNN CRANE, Biological Sciences

JESSICA FERGUSON, College of Business

STACI HUNT, College of Health and Human Services

KIM MCCOY, Adult Transfer Center (ATC)

DAVID SANDMANN, First Year Student Success Hub

KARA THOMPSON, College of Informatics

2024-2025 MASTER ADVISOR COMMITTEE

LYNN CRANE, Biological Sciences

MARK DVORNAK, First Year Student Success Hub

STACI HUNT, College of Health and Human Services

MIKE IRVIN, Coordinator of Student Support and Technology

MIKE RUWE, English

WENDY SCHINDLER, Student Support Services (TRIO)

KARA THOMPSON, College of Informatics

6 - 2025 Advisor Awards Program Northern Kentucky University - 7



NUNN DRIVE HIGHLAND HEIGHTS, KY 41099