Skip to main content
Arne J Almquist, former Associate Provost and Dean of Steely Library

Arne J. Almquist


The Arne J. Almquist Scholarship, funded by the Friends of Steely Library, was established to assist library informatics students in continuing and completing their online bachelor's degree at NKU.

The award is named in honor of Arne J. Almquist, former Associate Provost and Dean of W. Frank Steely Library. Arne served as the head of Steely Library from 2001-2018, and is a lifetime member of the Friends of Steely Library.

During his time in Steely, Arne devoted his time and guidance to supporting the Friends of Steely Library and the students of NKU through his work, which included the creation and development of the Library Informatics degree program.

The naming of the Arne J. Almquist Scholarship honors Arne for his generous and consistent support, as well as the insight he offered during his time as Associate Provost and Dean, which was essential to the growth and refinement of projects and programs offered by the Friends of Steely Library.

His work was also instrumental in offering outreach to underserved communities in Kentucky, providing enhanced library services and driving access to library education that was previously unavailable to the broader Kentucky community.

Eligibility: Must be at least sophomore standing at NKU;
Must be accepted in NKU's Library Informatics undergraduate degree program with at least 12 credit hours earned from NKU; Must have a 3.0 cumulative GPA at time of application; Preference given to residents of the Commonwealth of Kentucky. 

Amount: Varies

Duration: One academic year, excluding summer sessions.

Application Deadline: February 17, 2020

Apply Now!


2019 Scholarship Winners

Leigh Anna Voigt, Rita Baker and Samantha Fisher are the 2019 recipients of Northern Kentucky University's Arne J. Almquist Scholarship, funded by the Friends of Steely Library.

Leigh Anna Voigt, a senior from Bardstown, KY, has demonstrated a dedication to both studying and working in the Library Sciences field, and credits the preparation that she has received from her studies and instructors at NKU for her desire to continue advancing in the field.

Rita Baker, a senior from Walton, KY, is motivated to share her love of books and reading with younger generations, and hopes to do so with work in a public or academic library.

Samantha Fisher, a junior from Fairfield, OH, hopes to share her love of libraries with others, and to make a difference in the lives of the people she will help through working in the Library Sciences field.

Congratulations to our 2019 winners!


Past Winners

2018 - Kelly Carrigan and Andrea Lee

2017 - Angelina Clark and Elizabeth Gauck

2016 - Elizabeth Gauck and Leigh Anna Voigt