Nurse Advocacy Center for the Underserved

The NACU has a proven record of reducing health disparities by improving the health of vulnerable populations, collaborating with community partners to identify needs, and providing service learning opportunities for students while addressing the challenges of health care to the underserved community.

Our system of placing baccalaureate-prepared registered nurses and students where the underserved reside, work, or congregate has proven successful.

Mission

The Mission of the Nurse Advocacy Center for the Underserved is to improve the health of the underserved in the Northern Kentucky region by reducing health disparities.

Long-Term Goal

We envision the elimination of health disparities among the underserved with expansion of services to all underserved of the northern Kentucky region.

Director

NACU Officers

Medical Director
Joan Ziegelmeyer, APRN
ziegelmeyj2@nku.edu

Parish Nurse
Lynn Brown, RN
brownl9@nku.edu

Secretary
Teresa Huber, DNP, RN
hubert@nku.edu

Treasurer
Cheryl Volpenhein, RN     
volpenheinc@nku.edu

Site Coordinators

Welcome House of Northern Kentucky
Mary Kishman, kishmanm1@nku.edu  

Brighton Recovery Center
Lynn Brown, brownl9@nku.edu

Madison Avenue Christian Church
Teresa Huber, hubert@nku.edu

Emergency Shelter of Northern Kentucky
Denise Robinson, robinsond@nku.edu

City Heights Health Initiative
Lynn Brown, brownl9@nku.edu

Turfway
Roxanne Gall, gallr1@nku.edu