Department chair

Keith Walters
Keith Walters
Professor & Chair
SC 204G
(859) 572-5409
walterske@nku.edu
website
Full-Time Faculty
P.J. Ball
P.J. Ball
Senior Lecturer
SC 454
(859) 572-6960
ballp1@nku.edu
Julia Yang Bedell
Julia Yang Bedell
Lecturer II
Department Advisor
SC 203C
(859) 572-5388
bedell@nku.edu
Charlisa Daniels
Charlisa Daniels
Assistant Professor
SC 446
(859) 572-5408
danielsc6@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
John Farrar
John Farrar
Associate Professor
SC 453
(859) 572-7636
farrarj1@nku.edu
Gwen Fields
Gwen Fields
Senior Lecturer
SC 442
(859) 572-6681
fieldsg@nku.edu
Kebede Gemene
Kebede Gemene
Associate Professor
SC 447
(859) 572-7543
gemenek1@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
Michael Guy
Michael Guy
Assistant Professor
SC 445
Phone: (859) 572-6552
guym1@nku.edu
Patrick Hare
Patrick Hare
Associate Professor
SC 348
(859) 572-1928
harep1@nku.edu
Molly Hopper
Molly Hopper
Assistant Professor
SC 451
(859) 572-5409
hopperm4@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
Isabelle Lagadic
Isabelle Lagadic
Associate Professor
SC 449
(859) 572-7785
lagadici1@nku.edu
Lili Ma
Lili Ma
Associate Professor
SC 448
(859) 572-6961
mal1@nku.edu
Amber Onorato
Amber Onorato
Assistant Professor
SC 349
(859) 572-5733
onoratoa1@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
Betty Russell
Betty Russell
Lecturer
SC 450
(859) 572-1956
russellb2@nku.edu
K. C. Russell
K. C. Russell
Professor
SC 350
(859) 572-6110
russellk@nku.edu
website
Catie Shelton
Catie Shelton
Assistant Professor
SC 351
(859) 572-5409
cq-text-component-placeholder
Brad Sieve
Brad Sieve
Senior Lecturer
SC 452
(859) 572-6547
sieveb1@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
Part-Time Faculty
Dick Bloss
Dick Bloss
SC 322
(859) 572-6360
blossr@nku.edu
Christa Curie
Christa Currie
SC 322
(859) 572-6360
curriec1@nku.edu
Markus Eilers
Markus Eilers
SC 322
(859)-5432
eilersm2@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
Stuart Oehrle
Stuart Oehrle
SC 341
(859) 572-6671
oehrle@nku.edu

website
Patrick Slonecker
Patrick Slonecker
SC 322
(859) 572-5432
sloneckerp1@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
Staff Members
Christine Yankovsky
Christine Yankovsky
Academic Coordinator
SC 204F
(859) 572-5409
Kris Mason
Kris Mason
Stockroom Manager
SC 441
(859) 572-6669
masonk1@nku.edu
Jim Wilkinson
Jim Wilkinson
Laboratory Coordinator
SC 441
(859) 572-6669
wilkinsonj1@nku.edu
cq-text-component-placeholder
Emeritus Faculty
Vern Hicks

Vern Hicks, Professor Emeritus

E-mail: hicks@nku.edu

In 1972, Vern Hicks began his career as NKU’s first and only Physical Chemist and remained as such until his retirement in 2010.  In addition to Physical Chemistry, Vern also taught general chemistry, chemistry and society, introduction to chemistry and his beloved quantum mechanics.  He received his B.S. in 1965 from Emory and Henry College and his Ph.D. from Vanderbilt in 1974. Hicks was named 2008 Cincinnati Chemist of the Year by the Cincinnati section of the American Chemical Society. His other honors include: NKU Outstanding Professor Award in 1993, the KSTA Outstanding Science Teacher Award for Post-Secondary Teachers in 2000, and the prestigious Acorn Award in 2010.

cq-text-component-placeholder
Robert Kempton

Robert Kempton, Regents Professor Emeritus

E-mail: kempton@nku.edu
Website: http://www.nku.edu/~kempton

Following two years as a postdoctoral student at University of Illinois, Dr. Robert Kempton started teaching organic chemistry at NKU in 1976. He received his Ph.D. from Fordham University in 1975, M.S. from Auburn in 1969 and B.S. from St. Peter's College in 1966. Kempton has been the leader in establishing undergraduate research on campus and still works with students. He taught organic chemistry, spectroscopy and advanced organic synthesis and received the honor of Regents Professor in 1993.

cq-text-component-placeholder
Vinay Kumar

Vinay Kumar, Professor Emeritus

E-mail: kumar@nku.edu

Dr. Vinay Kumar began teaching general chemistry in the fall 1970 and holds the distinction of being the first chemistry faculty hired by NKU (then Northern Kentucky State College). Kumar received his M.S. from State University of New York at Oswego in 1967 and his Ph.D. from the University of Cincinnati in 1970. Kumar taught analytical chemistry, instrumental analysis, chemistry and society and introduction to chemistry.

cq-text-component-placeholder
James Niewahner

James Niewahner, Professor Emeritus

E-mail: niewahnerj@nku.edu

Dr. Jim Niewahner began his career at NKU in 1970 as an academic counselor and financial aid officer after receiving his Ph.D. from Colorado State University. He taught mostly general chemistry in addition to organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, physiological chemistry and chemistry and society. 

cq-text-component-placeholder
William Oliver

William Oliver, Professor Emeritus and ACS Fellow

E-mail: oliver@nku.edu  

Dr. Bill Oliver joined NKU in 1972.  He earned his Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry at Iowa State University in 1969 and worked at Procter and Gamble three years before moving to Northern.  He taught organic chemistry, general chemistry, biochemistry, physical organic chemistry, physiological chemistry, and chemistry and society.  He became the first chair of the chemistry department when it was formed in 1988 and served 16 years in that position.  He retired in 2007.