Skip to main content
Our History

Our Campus

NKU is located on 400 rolling acres offering views of both the lush Kentucky hillside and the downtown Cincinnati skyline. Its modern buildings are clustered in a pedestrian-friendly arrangement that fosters a community atmosphere among students, faculty and staff.

Over the last decade, the campus has seen tremendous growth with the addition of Griffin Hall (home to the College of Informatics), the James C. and Rachel M. Votruba Student Union, Truist Arena (10,000-seat home of NKU Athletics), the Scudamore Stadium (NKU soccer), three residential facilities (New Residence Hall, Callahan Hall and Northern Terrace), a Welcome Center, and two parking garages.

The $105 million Health Innovation Center opened in 2018, including a complete renovation of Founders Hall, for a total of over 150,000 assignable square feet of new and renovated space.

Campus houses 13 academic buildings, 11 residential facilities, six academic support buildings and five athletics facilities. There are two libraries on campus – Steely Library and the Chase Law Library. The Steely Library collections, exhibits, databases, and instructional programs have greatly expanded in recent years.

NKU has committed to providing accessible, collaborative, innovative, and advanced technology solutions that enrich the academic experience. The commitment to IT infrastructure is demonstrated through flexible classroom designs, online offerings, smart technology in all of the facilities and cyber security for university resources and information.

The university is deeply committed to sustainability. The renovated Campus Recreation Center was built with sustainability in mind. The Rec Center is LEED Gold certified and contains state-of-the-art geothermal technology that generates renewable energy to heat and cool the building. Griffin Hall is LEED Silver certified as a result of, among other things, its Intelligent Building System that automates heating, ventilation, air conditioning and lighting. The campus also features solar panels, multiple energy-saving transportation initiatives, community gardens, robust recycling programs, and an institutional commitment to achieving climate neutrality.