Skip to main content

Young Scholars Academy

Earn college credit during your last two years of high school!

The Young Scholars Academy is a selective partnership between the Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services, Northern Kentucky University, and partner school districts.

A limited number of scholars are selected to take a full-time college course load on NKU’s campus for their final two years of high school. YSA students are completely immersed in NKU's campus life while also working in small cohorts of like-minded peers.

Some scholars work toward specific degrees, while others explore interests. Every scholar has the opportunity to tailor the experience to their unique goals. By the end of the program, most students will have approximately 60 college credit hours. Some scholars may use those hours towards their bachelor's degree, while others earn the AAIS degree through NKU!

high school students on a campus tour


To be considered, you must:

  • Be a current 10th grader at a participating school (Bellevue Independent, Bracken County, Covington Independent, Dayton Independent, Erlanger-Elsmere Independent, Kenton County, Ludlow Independent, Newport Independent, and Pendleton County school districts)
  • Be meeting college readiness benchmarks on your most recent CERT
  • Have a cumulative unweighted GPA of a 3.0 or higher