Skip to main content

Purpose of GZB Training

All Faculty and Staff are encouraged to attend an upcoming “Green Zone” training program that empowers participants to aid military affiliated students.  Becoming a member of the Green Zone Brigade says you have a deeper understanding and appreciation of the military, veteran and dependent experience as well as developing tools to better serve these students toward their goals.

Attendees will leave with an understanding of military terminology and experience, learn about the military-connected population, understanding about the transition process from the military to campus and identify campus and community resources that are champions in the students success.  In addition, each trained member will be listed on the Green Zone Brigade resource page, a certificate of training and a magnet to proudly display to show their commitment to lend a sympathetic ear and help the student identify and connect with appropriate resources.

Register for an upcoming class

Comments from previous attendees: 

“very informative and brought a much better understanding of the needs of veterans and military affiliate students”   

- Dr. Dirk Grupe, Associate Professor and Chair

 

“Your training was very eye opening and helpful to know the right questions to ask.” 

- Kayla Robles, Advisor/Lecturer

 

"The Green Zone Brigade training equips the campus community with the information and tools that will help our military affiliated students succeed at NKU. I really appreciate the growing network of colleagues who are part of the GZB and who I can consult as appropriate to serve our students." 

- Peg Adams, M.ED Director, University Connect and Persist (UCAP) 

 

"After attending the Green Zone Brigade training, I have a better understanding of military-affiliated students.  The more I understand, the better advisor I will be.  I appreciate Rusty's expertise, energy, and advocacy."  

-Mike Ruwe, English Department Advisor

 

See all the currently trained GZB Faculty & Staff below.

It is highly recommended to watch both videos prior to attending GZB training.
cq-text-component-placeholder

List of Trained Green Zone Brigade Members


Acosta, Charles - Faculty, Professor Biological Sciences

acostac@nku.edu

 

Adams, Peg - Director, U-CAP Univ Connect & Persist

adamspe@nku.edu

 

Allen, Peggy - Specialist Graduate Education

allenp1@nku.edu

 

Andrews, Amanda - Coordinator, First Yr Student Engagement AV Provost Advising & First Yr Experience 

andrewsa7@nku.edu

 

Bartlett, Robin - Faculty, Associate Professor Psychological Science

BARTLETTR@nku.edu

 

Baker, Michelle - Program Manager, Prg Dvlpmt  &  Assessment Kentucky Campus Compact

snowballm@nku.edu

 

Barron, Marquita - Director of Training & Development Human Resources 

barronm1@nku.edu

 

Benton, Chelsea - Assistant Director of Comms & Technology Admissions

Bentonc4@nku.edu

 

Bergman, Johnny - Director Upward Bound

bergmanj1@nku.edu

 

Blackburn, Christy - Specialist, Admn & Billing Operations Health, Counseling & Student Wellness

Blackburnc4@nku.edu

 

Breeze, Beverly - Coordinator, Academic Support/Spl Projs. Academic Affairs 

breezeb2@nku.edu

 

Brown, Jennifer - Mgr of Admin, Events, & Special Projects College of Education

brownj42@nku.edu

 

Bryant-Lees, Kinsey - Faculty, Assistant Professor Psychological Science

bryantleek1@nku.edu

 

Bliven, Nick - Fuel NKU Program Coordinator, Lecturer Fuel NKU

Blivenn1@nku.edu

 

Bosch, Rachel - Faculty, Lecturer Physics, Geology & Engineering Technology

Boschr1@nku.edu

 

Brooks, Sheena - Director, Graduate Programs

brookss12@nku.edu

 

Brossart, Renee - Sr. Administrator, Grants & Contracts Research, Grants & Contracts

brossartr3@nku.edu

 

Brummer, Nicholas - Faculty, Assistant Professor of Practice Communication

brummern@nku.edu

 

Bowling, Bethany - Senior Associate Dean, Professor College of Arts & Sciences

bowlingb2@nku.edu

 

Bowling, Christopher - IT Client Support Specialist I    IT - Infrastructure and Operations Group

bowlingc@nku.edu

 

Burke, Anthony - Faculty, Lecturer Business Informatics 

BURKA@nku.edu

 

Bushle, David - Specialist, Graphic Design University Marketing & Communications

Bushled1@nku.edu

 

Calvert, Constance - Faculty 

calvertc1@nku.edu

 

Canqioni, Carole - Faculty, Associate Professor Department of Management

cangionic1@nku.edu

 

Carter, Denzil - Assistant Registrar, Service Office of the University Registrar 

denzil.carter@nku.edu

 

Chandler, Joshua - Coordinator, Service Office of the University Registrar

chandlerj5@nku.edu

 

Chesnut, Mary - Professor of Library Education/Teaching & Learning Librarian, Steely Library 

chesnut@nku.edu

 

Conwell, Sara - Assistant Director, ALPS Adult Learner Programs & Services

conwells1@nku.edu

 

Cucchiara, Sherry - Director of Grant County Center Grant County Center

CUCCHIARA@nku.edu

 

Curtis, Tina - Advisor Informatics Advising Center

curtisc5@nku.edu

 

Daniels, Charlisa - Faculty, Associate Professor Chemistry and Biochemistry

Danielsc6@nku.edu

 

Daniel, Tinley - Academic Advisor CHHS Advising Center

danielt6@nku.edu

 

Danzo, Amy - Director,Testing Srvs  & Adult Learner Prg Testing Services

danzoa1@nku.edu

 

Dorriere, Kyle - Operations Coordinator, KyCC Kentucky Campus Compact 

dorrierek1@nku.edu

 

Drummond, Suzanne - Officer, Grants & Contracts, Research, Grants & Contracts

drummonds1@nku.edu

 

Dvornak, Mark - Academic Advisor - FY Students First Year Student Success Hub

dvornakm2@nku.edu

 

Eagles, Kevin - Part-time Faculty History & Geography

eaglesk1@nku.edu

 

Emmett, Amy - Administrative Assistant II Facilities Management

emmetta2@nku.edu

 

Engel, Stuart - Senior Administrator, Grants & Contracts

engels2@nku.edu

 

Fennell, Scott - Director, Center for Environmental Restoration 

FENNELLS@nku.edu

 

Ferguson, Jessica - Faculty, Senior Lecturer Center for Student Excellence

fergusonj4@nku.edu

 

Floyd, Rhea - Faculty, Lecturer PolitScience/Criminal Justice/OrgLdrship

Floydr3@nku.edu

 

Foltz, DyaneAssistant Director of Advising, Lecturer CHHS Advising Center

Foltzd1@nku.edu

 

Froude, Bill - Director Career Services

Foudew1@nku.edu

 

Gebka, Sydney - First Year Career Advisor Career Services

Gebkas2@nku.edu

 

Gibson, Britta - Associate Director, NSO & PP Admissions

Gibsonb9@nku.edu

 

Gish, Missy - Master of Public Adminitration (MPA) Coordinator

gishm@nku.edu

 

Graf, Allyson - Faculty, Assistant Professor Psychological Science

grafa1@nku.edu

 

Greenwood, Jennifer - Specialist Student Financial Assistance

greenwoodj4@nku.edu

 

Grupe, Dirk - Chair Physics,Geology & Engineering Technology

gruped1@nku.edu

 

Hannig, Ali - Specialist, Planning,Design, & Construction

hanniga1@nku.edu

 

Helm, Brandon - Manager, Stream Restoration Center for Environmental Restoration

helmb1@nku.edu

 

Herald, John - Custodian Building Services 1st Shift

Heraldj7@nku.edu

 

Hilleke, Gayle - Executive Director Kentucky Campus Compact 

hillekeg1@nku.edu

 

Holloman, Craig - Director, Research, Grants & Contracts

hollomans1@nku.edu

 

Hopfensperger, Kristy - Faculty, Professor Biological Sciences

hopfenspek1@nku.edu

 

Horner, Jeanine - Campus Health Nurse Health, Counseling & Student Wellness

Hornerj3@nku.edu

 

Human, J - Faculty, Lecturer Accounting & Business Law

Humanj1@nku.edu

 

Johnson, Claudia - Academic Specialist Teacher Preparation & Educational Studies

johnsonc24@nku.edu

 

Justice, Heath - Manager, Research Development (RGC) Research, Grants & Contracts

justicep1@nku.edu

 

Kappesser, Patricia - Faculty, Lecturer II Biological Sciences

KAPPESSERP@nku.edu

 

Kay, Michele - Campus Health Nurse Health, Counseling & Student Wellness

kay@nku.edu

 

Kilmer, Amanda - Faculty, Lecturer II PolitScience/Criminal Justice/OrgLdrship

kilmera@nku.edu

 

Kim, Suk-hee - Faculty, Associate Professor Social Work Graduate Studies

Champion of Success Award Winner - Faculty 2021

kims16@nku.edu

 

Klatzke, Stephanie - Associate Dean, Associate Professor College of Informatics

Klatzkes1@nku.edu

 

Kuwahara, Yasue - Faculty, Professor Communication

KUWAHARA@nku.edu

 

Lambert-South, Andrea - Faculty, Professor Communication

Lamberta3@nku.edu

 

Langley, Samantha - Vice Provost-Grad Ed, Research, Outreach

langleys1@nku.edu

 

Lawrence, Christopher - Faculty, Associate Professor Counseling

Lawrencec7@nku.edu

 

Ledford, Hannah - Faculty Advisor, Lecturer CHHS Advising Center

Ledfordh1@nku.edu

 

Massey, Kendra - Director, Norse Violence Prevention Center 

masseyk4@nku.edu

 

Massie, Elizabeth - Admissions Counselor Graduate Education

massiee1@nku.edu

 

McCoy Kimberly - Advisor, Adult Learner Programs & Services

mccoyk8@nku.edu

 

McDonald, Danielle - Faculty, Professor PolitScience/Criminal Justice/OrgLdrship

mcdonaldd1@nku.edu

 

McElfresh, Lisa - Assistant Director of Career Services Career Services

Mcelfreshl1@nku.edu

 

Melish, Michelle - Associate Director of Education Abroad Education Abroad

Melishm1@nku.edu

 

Messer, Hope - Specialist, Financial Aid Processing Student Financial Assistance

messerh1@nku.edu

 

Mester, Joseph - Faculty, Associate Professor Biological Sciences

Mesterj1@nku.edu

 

Moon, Melissa - Faculty, Associate Professor Politiscience/Criminal Justice/Org Ldrship

moonm@nku.edu

 

Moore, Brooke - Specialist, Office Support Health, Counseling & Student Wellness

Moored20@nku.edu

 

Neddermann, Peg - Admissions Counselor Admissions

Neddermanm1@nku.edu

 

Neikirk, Mark - Executive Director, Civic Engagement & Nonprof Capacity Bldg

neikirkm1@nku.edu

 

Nerbonne, Erica - Writing Center Coordinator Learning Plus

nerbonnee1@nku.edu

 

Nichols, Bridget - Faculty, Professor Marketing,Sports Business & Const Mgt, 

nicholsb1@nku.edu

 

Panek, Jake - Asst. Director of Outreach & Recruitment Admissions

panekj1@nku.edu

 

Parker, Allison - Faculty, Assistant Professor Biological Sciences

parkera10@nku.edu

 

Racke, Amy - Assistant Dean & Director of Advising, Lecturer II College of Arts & Sciences

rackea@nku.edu

 

Rasmussen, Guthrie - Enrollment Coordinator Vice Provost Grad Ed, Research & Outreach

rasmusseng1@nku.edu

 

Reid, LaNighta - Associate Director Univ Connect & Persist

reidl2@nku.edu

 

Reilly, Shauna - Faculty, Professor Political Science/Criminal Justice/Org Leadership

reillys3@nku.edu

 

Resnick, Philip - Part-time Faculty Sociology, Anthropology, Philosophy

resnickp1@nku.edu

 

Richmond, Jennifer - Coordinator Career Services

richmondj1@nku.edu

 

Rieskamp, Kelli - Coordinator, CINSAM Ctr Integrative Nat Science & Math

Rieskampk1@nku.edu

 

Robinson, Frank - Director, First Year Student Hub First Year Student Success Hub

Robinsonf1@nku.edu

 

Robles, Kayla - Faculty Advisor Center for Student Excellence

roblesk1@nku.edu

 

Ruwe, Mike - Advisor, Undergraduate Programs English 

ruwem@nku.edu

 

Ryan-Perry, Siobhan - Counselor Health, Counseling & Student Wellness

ryanperrys1@nku.edu

 

Schaefer, Matthew - Asst Athletic Director for Comm. & Media Athletics Communication

schaeferm10@nku.edu

 

Schmidt, Meghan - Asst Director of Recruitment & Retention Informatics Advising Center

schmidtm17@nku.edu

 

Share, Felicia - Program Coordinator, Community Engagement, Civic Engagement & Nonprof Capacity Bldg

sharef1@nku.edu

 

Shearer, Kimberly - Academic Advisor - FY Students First Year Student Success Hub

pangburnk@nku.edu

 

Shifley, Emily - Faculty, Associate Professor Biological Sciences

shifleye1@nku.edu

 

Smith, Amirah - Specialist Student Financial Assistance

smitha156@nku.edu

 

Smith, Terri - Lead Custodian Building Services 2nd Shift

smithm60@nku.edu

 

Songer, Stephanie - Assoc Director, Online & Prof. Education Vice Provost Grad Ed, Research & Outreach

songers1@nku.edu

 

Southwick, Anita - Manager, Research Compliance

southwicka1@nku.edu

 

Spataro, Sandra - Faculty, Professor Department of Management

spataros1@nku.edu

 

Sterrett, Amy - Administrative Specialist First Year Student Success Hub

Sterretta1@nku.edu

 

Stephens, Jennifer - Coordinator, University Connect and Persist (UCAP)

Stephensj12@nku.edu

 

Stejbach, Sayre - Specialist, Stream Restoration Center for Environmental Restoration

stejbachs1@nku.edu

 

Strome, Erin - Chair, Professor Biological Sciences

stromee1@nku.edu

 

Stuntz, Lou - Academic Coordinator History & Geography

stuntzl@nku.edu

 

Taylor, Evriel Joy - Custodian Building Services 1st Shift

taylore14@nku.edu

 

Tempel, Rose - Director of Health Services Health, Counseling & Student Wellness

Tempelr1@nku.edu

 

Turner, Danielle - Administrative Secretary Civic Engagement & Nonprof Capacity Bldg

turnerd17@nku.edu

 

Thiemann, Rodney - Project Manager - Plan, Design & Constr Planning, Design, & Construction

thiemannr1@nku.edu

 

Thompson, Kara - Assistant Director, Advising (COI) Informatics Advising Center

thompsonk14@nku.edu

 

Thompson, James - Specialist, Stream Restoration Center for Environmental Restoration

thompsonj52@nku.edu

 

Vonderhaar, Doughlas - Budget Coordinator, Kentucky Campus Compact

vonderhaad2@nku.edu

 

Von Handorf, Rosanne - Secretary AV Provost Advising & First Yr Experience

vonhandorfr@nku.edu

 

Warner, Hawkins - Manager, Stream Restoration Construction Center for Environmental Restoration

warnerh1@nku.edu

 

Williams, Diane Director/Faculty, Lecturer Learning PLUS

WilliamsD@nku.edu

 

Wiley, Kimberly - Assistant to the Vice Provost Vice Provost Grad Ed, Research & Outreach

wileyk2@nku.edu

 

Zacate, Matthew - Faculty, Professor Physics,Geology & Engineering Technology

zacatem1@nku.edu

 

Zai, Robert - Graduate Teaching and Learning Librarian, Associate Professor Steely Library

zair1@nku.edu

 

Zelensky, Gregory - Sergeant University Police - Field Operations

ZELENSKY@nku.edu